Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Update: THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! The Library building is closed; limited access to physical material.

ENGL 1012: Memory: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

9. The Brooklyn College Library subscribes to over 400 different article databases and although oneSEARCH searches a lot of them at the same time, it doesn’t search all of them.


From the Library’s website, click on the Databases link.

  

 

One of the options ("Browse Databases by Title") will present you with an A-Z list of all the databases the Library subscribes to.

 

Try searching several (or all) of the databases below to look for articles in scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals. They are all accessible from the A-Z list.

Multi-disciplinary databases (cover a lot of different subjects):

  • Academic Search Complete
  • CQ Researcher
  • JSTOR
  • Proquest
  • Project Muse
  • SAGE Premier
  • Social Sciences Full Text
  • SpringerLink
  • Wiley Online

Subject-specific databases:

  • America: History and Life (History)
  • Literature Resource Center (Literature)
  • MLA International Bibliography (Literature)
  • Political Science
  • PsycINFO (Psychology)
  • SocIndex with Full Text (Sociology)

In choosing one of the subject-specific databases, think about the focus of your topic. If you're studying the emotional and psychological effects of migration, PsycINFO would be a good database to try. If you're writing about migration or exile in a particular novel or short story, then try MLA International Bibliography or Literature Resource Center.