Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Update: THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! The Library building is closed; limited access to physical material.

ENGL 1012: Memory: Getting Started

Encyclopedia Articles

5. From the Library’s website, you will now have access to hundreds of different databases and search tools. To get started, click on the "Databases" link above the big search box (indicated by a blue arrow).

 

6. You will have the option to "Find Databases by Subject" or "Browse Databases by Title." Go to "Browse Databases by Title." 

7. Click on the letter G, then click on Gale eBooks. If you are already logged in for off-campus access, you will be taken straight into the database. If you are not yet logged in, you will be prompted to do so. (See the "Logging In Remotely" tab of this guide for instructions.)

This database (Gale eBooks) can be a good one to start with when you’re just beginning research on your topic, and you're looking for background information or a broad overview. It searches across hundreds of online AUTHORITATIVE encyclopedias and the entries are written by scholars. It is a highly recommended alternative to Wikipedia. At the end of most articles, you will also see a bibliography or further reading list, which is a great way to start compiling a preliminary list of potential sources for your paper.
 

Sample searches:

    "cultural memory"

     monuments

     confederate monuments 

     9/11 memorial

     "vietnam memorial"

     trauma AND memory

     public monuments

    "collective memory"    

     war memorials

     confederate memorials

     "civil war" AND monuments

     "iwo jima war memorial"

     "statue of liberty"

      trauma AND children

     "lincoln memorial"

 

Sample search results from Gale eBooks:   
 


Sample paragraph (from sample article) in Gale eBooks


Sample bibliography (from sample article) in Gale eBooks: