From WNYC

The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Has links to their movie collection, which focuses mainly on everyday life, culture, industry, and institutions in North America in the 20th century.

This service is designed to help engaged citizens better understand the issues and candidates in the 2012 U.S. elections by allowing them to search closed captioning transcripts to borrow relevant television news programs. The collection now contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added.

Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors. The collection is divided into the following categories: Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror &Westerns (many with John Wayne); Martial Arts Movies; Silent Films; Documentaries, and Animation.

Open Vault, the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.

A searchable repository of digitized video content established and maintained by the OVP.

The Prelinger Archives collects, preserves, and facilitates access to films of historic significance not collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions. 

Alfred Hitchcock, the master of suspense, directed more than 50 feature films. Although many of his landmark films remain copyrighted, this site links to early Hitchcock films in the public domain.

TDF offers full watchable documentaries and information on documentaries by quoting from reviews

UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. All materials on UbuWeb are being made available for noncommercial and educational use only. All rights belong to the author(s).

An extensive and complete archive of television news since August 5, 1968.

Stream FREE video content on your mobile phone, tablet, desktop, OTT device or Smart TV! SnagFilms has over 2,000 movies, TV show episodes, eye-opening documentaries and exclusive original comedy shorts. There is something to watch for everyone!