Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Accounting: Recommended Databases

Databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the Web for articles, books, and other scholarly materials in many different disciplines. See instructions for setting up the Link to Google Scholar from the Brooklyn College Library's website to access our electronic journal holdings via the "Find fulltext at Brooklyn" link next to any item the library has electronically. It's a great way to save time and avoid publisher paywalls. Also note this alternate search box for Google Scholar useful during intermittent moments of inaccessibility.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases. A tutorial is available at http://academic.Nexis Uni.com/online-services/academic-overview.aspx (under "Learn More").
Wiley Online - Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
A database of abstracts and full text from journals and books from across disciplines - especially strong in the Social Sciences. Use limiters to focus results by discipline.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Income Statements, Annual Reports, Financial Ratios, Industry, and Sector reports, Annual Reports on publicly-traded companies.

Accounting Journals

The library subscribes to some accounting journals. Use our e-journals finder to search for them.

The Accounting Review Provides information on accounting theory and research, business problems, and the teaching of business and accounting subjects.
Accounting Horizons A forum for the exchange of ideas and views surrounding the practice of public accounting, management accounting, and the development of accounting policies and procedures.
Current Issues in Auditing Current Issues in Auditing is devoted to advancing the dialogue between academics and practitioners on current issues facing the auditing practice community (e.g., new opportunities and challenges, emerging areas, global developments, effects of new regulations or pronouncements, and effects of technological or market developments on audit processes). We define ‘‘auditing practice’’ broadly to include practice-related issues in external auditing, internal auditing, government auditing, IT auditing, assurance services, and related fields
Accounting and the Public Interest Accounting and the Public Interest is an academic journal published by the Public Interest Section of the American Accounting Association. The journal takes the view that accounting has broad societal responsibilities, and thus accounting-related activities have consequences for a wide spectrum of constituencies. Studies submitted to the journal should be linked to the public interest by situating them within a historical, social, or political context, and findings should ultimately provide guidance for responsible action. The journal welcomes innovation and eclecticism, alternative theories and methodologies, as well as the more traditional ones. Responsible action can be promoted through research in all areas of accounting including, but not restricted to: • financial accounting and auditing • accounting in organizations, whether profit-driven, governmental, or not-for-profit • social and environmental accounting • government and professional regulation • taxation • gender and diversity issues • professional and business ethics • information technology • accounting and business education • governance of accounting organizations Theoretical and empirical contributions, as well as literature reviews that synthesize the state of the art in specific areas, are considered appropriate. Replications and reinterpretations of previous work will also be considered.

Library &
Academic IT

Library & Academic IT

Accounting: Recommended Databases

Databases

Accounting Journals

Scholarly, Peer Review, Trade and Popular Periodicals