Skip to main content

News and Newspapers: Newspapers & Databases

Current Newspapers

Databases

Academic Search Premier,designed specifically for academic institutions, contains full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,200 journals in the collection.

Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The theories and practices of socialism and revolution which this database covers inlcude: Ecology; Democracy and Anarchism; Feminism and Organized Labor; Indigenous Peoples; and Gays & Lesbians. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. It provides thousands of scholarly, full-text articles for area and ethnic studies, such as Jewish studies, African American studies, and Hispanic American studies. This database also has the largest full-text archive of Native American publications.

Gannett newspapers span 30 states providing high quality reporting to their local and regional constituencies. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed to offer access to not only top news stories but also the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor are indexed.

Infotrac Newsstand is a collection of more than 120 cover-to-cover newspapers from around the world plus an additional 280 sources of selected news and business coverage. The database stores newspaper articles that were published since 1980 and is updated daily with current articles.

Nexis Uni® Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources including: national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.

NewsBank offers a variety of resources that provide not only newspaper information but also essential domestic and international newswires, news video clips, transcripts, business journals, popular periodicals, government documents and other publications from around the globe.

NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms.

Search this database of ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.

Theater Reviews

Contact Information

Reference Librarians's picture
Reference Librarians
'
Contact:
Reference Desk: (718) 951-5628
Website