Skip to main content

MUSIC 1300: Attributions

A site for students and teachers of MUSIC 1300, a course in Music Appreciation at Brooklyn College, CUNY

Home page attributions

  1. Portrait of Ludvig van Beethoven by  Joseph Karl Stieler,1820: See Frauhofer Archive
  2. Logo of Globe with Headphones by Canadian downbeat producer Mr. Moods 
    and hip-hop producer Tack-Fu, on their site of all free, creative commons music: http://www.tackfu.com/downloads.html
  3. Photograph of earliest known grand piano, 1720, Made by Bartolomeo Cristofori (Italian, 1655–1731)
    Florence, Italy, various materials, Total H. 34 in. (86.5 cm), The Crosby Brown Collection of Musical Instruments, 1889 (89.4.1219), Metropolitan Museum of Art. Photograph by Sheldan Collins:  http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/89.4.1219 (October 2006)
  4. Group portrait of a victrola concert, outdoors, Palmer Memorial Institute. Photographer Unknown, n.d. (circa 1901-1915), available from Artstor: http://library.artstor.org/library/iv2.html?parent=true
  5. Manuscript of "The Endler Symphony," by Johnann Samuel Endler, c.a. 1730, Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Darmstadt, Germany, Photograph by Evan Cortens: http://oi53.tinypic.com/21cy2ax.jpg
  6. Demystifying Conducting: The Connection Between Gesture and Music | The New York Times, Published on Jan 4, 2013, by GRAHAM ROBERTS, XAQUÍN G.V.: http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2012/04/06/arts/music/the-connection-between-gesture-and-music.html?_r=1&

Sheet Music and Books Attributions

1) Sheet Music Websites:

a)  19th century Sheet Music digitization project Logo: La Naranjera The Orange Girl: http://dc.lib.unc.edu/cdm/compoundobject/collection/sheetmusic/id/17092

b) IMSLP logo: http://imslpjournal.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/imslp-new-t-shirt-logo-800.png

c) Historic American Sheet Music at Duke Alexander's Ragtime Band Logo: http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/media/app/images/icons/collection/hasm_60x60.jpg

2) Music Databases: 

a) Gale Virtual Reference Library Logo: http://goodereader.s3.amazonaws.com/blog/uploads/images/GVRL5.gif

b) Alexander Street Press Logo: http://eduserv.org.uk/~/media/Images/LNS%20logos/aspredlogo.jpg

c)  Oxford Music Online Logo: https://www.shef.ac.uk/polopoly_fs/1.69299!/image/Oxford_Music_Online.jpg

Featured User Content Attributions

1) Whitney George, STAR Spring '15 Playlist ; 113 videos: Youtube: https://youtu.be/Deq1-dAKbC4?list=PLcf7jhQzFXywo-RrlvRNuNFuOrXSweRPg

2) Images

a) Duet = Patricia Sonego, soprano and Lisa Chin, contrabass.  International Electro-Acoustic Music Festival.  March 16, 2006, Levenson Recital Hall, Brooklyn College. 

b) Solo Flute = Christine Perea, flute with electronics.  International Electro-Acoustic Music Festival.  March 16, 2006, Levenson Recital Hall, Brooklyn College. 

c) Ensemble = Reizen Ensemble and friends.  International Electro-Acoustic Music Festival.  March 16, 2006, Levenson Recital Hall, Brooklyn College. 

3) Newsletters

a) Overtones Logo; from 50th Anniversary edition of Overtones, 1974, Volume Vol 11. No. 1 See link to this image.

4) Books

a) Music Library of University of Toronto Logo:  Elektra : tragedy in one act by Strauss, Richard, 1864-1949; Sophocles; Hofmannsthal, Hugo von, 1874-1929; https://archive.org/details/elektratragedyin00strauoft

5) Multimedia:

a) Who wrote that Opera? Image at http://www.theopera101.com/static/img/operas/operastart.png.

6) Independant Record Labels

a) Website of Northen Spy Record Label, Webmaster Tom Abbs: www.northernspyrecords.com

 

 

Interactive Websites Attributions

1) DSO logo: https://www.mydso.com/css/DSOKids/images/sub_piano.jpg

2) PBS logo: http://www-tc.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/press/2301_outreach/PBS_logo.jpg

3) Oberlin College and Conservatory logo: http://en.academic.ru/pictures/enwiki/79/OC_logo_2011.jpg

Video and Audio Attributions

1) Portrait, Marshall P. Wilder.Byron Company (New York, N.Y.) ca. 1898, accession # 93.1.1.9342, ArtStor Collection; Museum of the City of New York; http://www.mcny.org/; Contact information: Robbi Siegel, Rights and Reproduction Specialist, MCNY, 1220 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY, 10029, Tel No: 212-534-1672 x 3375, Fax No: 212-534-0687, rsiegel@mcny.org 

2) Fresh Oldtime Stringband Music [Streaming Audio]. (1992). Rounder Records. (1992). Retrieved May 27, 2015, from Music Online: American Song. http://search.alexanderstreet.com/music-performing-arts/view/work/75498

3) Whitney George's Baroque Video Playlist: Youtube: First Frame: Uploaded on Sep 28, 2010; Mayumi Hirasaki 1st violin; Daria Zappa 2nd violin; CHAMBER ARTISTS ORCHESTRA (CHAARTS); 19. September 2010 in Berikon/CH
on 416 HZ Pitch; Modern instruments, baroque bows https://youtu.be/wapqrTbs-S8?list=PLcf7jhQzFXyze0DOLNvu-qRxhPAFJUVBl

4)Flor de Toloache (Rhythm in Motion series): Award winning Documentary on NYC's all female Mariachi Band by Jenny Schweitzer, 2015: https://vimeo.com/121802982.