Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to the Tour of the Brooklyn College Library Art Collection: Introduction

A tour of the highlights of the BC Library art collection, with a map of their location in the library, description, information, and an audio guide.

Brooklyn College Library Art Tour

Welcome to the Brooklyn College Library's Art Collection, which includes paintings, drawings, sculptures, photography, and prints. Diverse in character and international in scope, the collection features art by Elizabeth Murray, William Kentridge, Chakaia Booker, Shahzia Sikander, Sarah Sze, John Walker, Edward Ruscha, and Xu Bing. Several of these artists live and work in Brooklyn's dynamic art community, and they are all internationally recognized, with works in major museums around the world.

The collection also contains drawings and prints from prominent modern artists, including Alberto Giacometti, Käthe Kollwitz, Alexander Calder, Georges Braque, Robert Motherwell, and Chaim Gross. Most of the art collection was acquired just before the 2002 opening of the newly renovated and expanded Library. Many of the purchases were funded by New York City's "Percent for Art" law, which ensures that public spaces are graced with art. Numerous other works were acquired through gifts, and some works are on loan. One very special work, Olindo Mario Ricci's Famous Libraries of the World mural, was funded in 1936 by the Federal Arts Project.

We invite you to tour highlights of the collection using the floor maps on this website. Tap the button which shows your location, and you will be linked to an audio as well as a text description of the work, with relevant information. Another method is to scan the QR code of the work, and you will be redirected to its description on this site.

This site contains highlights of the collection. The entire online catalogue, which can accessed from the Library’s web page, includes digital reproductions of the art, brief descriptions, suggested readings, and links to museum and gallery exhibitions. The online catalogue will be updated frequently with links to relevant publications and exhibitions, so please visit regularly! For further information about the Library's Art Collection, please contact Professor Miriam Deutch at miriamd@brooklyn.cuny.edu.