Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Image Resources: Home

General

AP Images
Images in partnership with Fotolia now offers a stunning collection of over 15 million microstock royalty-free images priced as low as 84 cents an image. For a fee, AP and Corbis Images now offer access to more than 10 million images covering breaking news, sports, entertainment, archival and creative images from across the globe.
ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library makes available more than 1.4+ million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
British Library Images Online
The British Museum contains one of the world's largest collections of art and artefacts related to the history of mankind. The collection is rich in objects from Greek and Roman civilizations, including a significant collection of sculptures from the Parthenon, the 5th century BCE temple located on the Acropolis in Athens.
Burst
Burst is a free stock photo platform that is powered by Shopify. The image library includes thousands of high-resolution, royalty-free images by a global community of photographers. All our photos are free for commercial use with no attribution required.
Flickr: The Commons
More and more cultural heritage institutions are contributing digital images to Flickr. The Smithsonian, Brooklyn Museum,The J. Paul Getty, and Library of Congress are just a few of them. Some images may be subject to copyright restrictions.

Gale Primary Sources: Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a global digitization program focusing on primary sources from the long nineteenth century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and more in diverse languages.
Collections
- "The Whitechapel Murders Papers: Letters Relating to the ""Jack the Ripper"" Killings"
- Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia: Minutes and Correspondence
- Action Sociale De La Femme Et Le Livre Francaise
- African Mail
- African World
- American Medical Periodicals
- Annales de l'Extreme Orient et de l'Afrique
- Archives of the Royal Literary Fund
- Astronomy and Astrophysics
- Britannia: Official Organ of the Women's Party
- British Admiralty Office Photographs
- British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political and Economic Sciences: 1800-1947
- British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1916
- British Colonial Office: Photographic Collection
- British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905
- British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1906-1913: Dominance of the Genro
- British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1914-1923: Emergence of Japan as a Pacific Power
- British Journal of Photography and Annual, 1854-1914
- British Labour History Ephemera
- British Playbills, 1780-1861
- British Trade Union History Collection
- Bulletins du Comite de l'Afrique francaise
- Civil Disturbance, Chartism and Riots in Nineteenth Century England
- Civil Engineering
- Colonial Africa Newspapers from the British Library
- Colonial Defence Commission under Lord Carnarvon
- Color Theory and Practice
- Crystal Palace Handel Triennial
- Crystal Palace Saturday Concerts
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Amoy, China, 1844-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Antung, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Bangkok, Siam, 1856-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Batavia, Java, Netherlands East Indies, 1818-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Bathurst, Gambia, British Africa, 1857-1889
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Boma, Congo, 1888-1895
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Canton, China, 1790-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Cape Town, Cape Colony, 1800-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chefoo, China, 1863-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chinkiang, China, 1864-1902
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chunking, China, 1896-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Foochow, China, 1849-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Gaboon, 1856-1888
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Goree Dakar, French Africa, 1883-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Grand Bassa, Liberia, 1868-1882
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hakodate, Japan, 1856-1878
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hangchow, China, 1904-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hangchow, China, 1904-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hankow, China, 1861-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hong Kong, 1844-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Iloilo, Philippine Islands, 1876-1886
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Kanagawa, Japan, 1861-1897
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Lourenco Marques, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Macao, China, 1849-1869
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Manila, Philippine Islands, 1817-1899
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Mukden, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Nagasaki, Japan, 1860-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Nanking, China, 1902-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Newchwang, Manchuria, China, 1865-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Ningpo, China, 1853-1896
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Osaka and Hiogo (Kobe), Japan, 1868-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Padang, Sumatra, Netherlands East Indies, 1853-1898
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Pretoria, The Transvaal, 1898-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Saigon, Vietnam, 1889-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Santiago, Cape Verde Islands, 1818-1898
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Seoul, Korea, 1886-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Shanghai, China, 1847-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Sierra Leone, British Africa, 1858-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Singapore, Straits Settlements, 1833-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in St. Helena, British West Africa, 1831-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in St. Paul de Loanda, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1893
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Swatow, China, 1860-1881
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Tamatave, Madagascar, 1853-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Tientsin, China, 1868-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Yokohama, Japan, 1897-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Zanzibar, British Africa, 1836-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Ministers to China, 1843-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Japan, 1855-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Korea, 1883-1905
- Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Siam, 1882-1906
- Deutsche Kolonialzeitung
- Diaries of Sir Frederic Madden
- Discontent and Authority, 1820-1840
- Drury Lane Receipts
- Drury Lane Theatre Archive
- Drury Lane under Sheridan, 1770-1812: Manuscript Plays and Correspondence
- Early Rare Photographic Books from the North Western Museum of Science and Industry Collection
- Early Rare Photographs from the Victoria and Albert Museum, London
- Economic and Social Investigations in England since 1833: Transactions of the Manchester Statistical Society, Parts One and Two
- Electricity and Electromagnetism
- English Stage after the Restoration, 1726–1849
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
- Evolution and the Origin of Species
- Exploration and Colonization of Africa
- German Colonialism in Africa: Selections from the Kolonialbibliothek (Colonial Library) Collection
- History of Photograpy
- History of Women
- History of the Philippine Insurrection Against the United States, 1899-1903, and Documents Relating to the War Department Project for Publishing of History, 1899-1903
- Home Office Papers and Records
- Home Office: Disturbances Entry Books
- Home Office: Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861
- Home Office: Domestic Entry Books
- Home Office: Post Office Correspondence
- Home Office: Registered Papers
- Hue and Cry and Police Gazette
- International Population Census, Africa
- JW Davison Papers
- Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period
- Joseph Chamberlain Papers Relating to Africa
- King's Theatre Haymarket Archive
- Konzert Programm Austausch
- Lord Chamberlain's Plays
- Mary Braddon Archive
- Mathematics
- Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912: Africa
- Minutes of Treaty Conferences between U.S. and Japanese Representatives, and Treaty Drafts, 1872
- Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912 (China, Japan, Korea)
- Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1912-1949 (China, Japan, Korea)
- Missionary and Socio-Economic Journals
- Myrtilla Miner Papers
- Nineteenth-Century Photographs from the Royal Archives, Windsor
- Notes from the Chinese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1868-1906
- Notes from the Japanese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1858-1906
- Notes from the Korean Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1883-1906
- Notes from the Siamese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1876-1906
- Oratorio Concert Programmes
- Ordnance Surveyors' Drawings, 1789-1840
- Our Corner
- Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt
- Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton
- Papers of Great British Statesmen and Politicians, Series One: The Papers and Correspondence of Charles James Fox, 1749-1806
- Papers of the Prime Ministers of Great Britain, Series Two: Sir Robert Peel (Prime Minister, 1834-5, 1841-5 and 1845-6)
- People's History: Working Class Autobiographies
- Personal Narratives and Reminiscences of the Exploration of Africa
- Photographs from the India Collection at the British Library
- Photographs from the National Media Museum
- Photographs from the Royal Photographic Society Collection
- Photographs from the Science Museum
- Photographs from the Talbot Collection at the British Library
- Photographs from the Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine
- Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain, Part Two: The Sabine Baring-Gould and Thomas Crampton Collections
- Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain, Parts Three-Ten: The Barry Ono Collection of Bloods and Penny Dreadfuls
- Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures
- Public Order, Discontent, and Protest in Nineteenth Century England, 1820-1850
- Publications of the Cape Colony
- Publications of the Natal Colony
- Quaker Women's Diaries: 18th-19th Centuries
- Queen's Hall Programmes
- Radical Politics and the Working Man in England
- Radicalism, Anti-Radicalism and Reform in England, 1769-1861: Original Papers and Minute Books
- Radicals and Reformers in Britain: The Papers of John Cam Hobhouse, 1809-1869
- Rare Freethought Militant 19th Century Books
- Rare Radical and Labour Periodicals of Great Britain
- Records Relating to the United States Surveying Expedition to the North Pacific Ocean, 1852-1863.
- Records of the Copyright Office of the Stationers' Company: Photographs
- Report of the Boundary Survey between British Bechuanaland and German Southwest Africa of 1898-1903
- Reports of Explorations Printed in the Documents of the United States Government
- Royal Albert Hall
- Royal Philharmonic Society Archive
- Royal Philharmonic Society Music Manuscripts
- Scientific and Technical Periodicals from the Royal Society of London's Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900
- Selected Africa Collections from the Bodleian Library
- Selected Cabinet Papers on Africa
- Selected Colonial Office Files on Africa
- Selected Dominions Office Files on Africa
- Selected Foreign Office Files on Africa
- Selected India Office Records on Colonial Africa
- Selected Maps and Plans Files on Africa
- Selected Narratives and Reminiscences on Colonial Africa
- Selected Records of the U.S. Consulate in Bangkok, Siam, 1856-1912
- Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in China, 1849-1931
- Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in Japan, 1855-1912
- Selected War Office Files on Africa
- Sir George Smart Papers
- Sir George Smart Programmes
- St James Hall Monday/Saturday Popular Concerts
- Suffragist
- The Bauduin Collection of Photographs
- The Diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845
- The Hill and Adamson Albums: photographs by David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson, 1843-1848
- The Journal of the American National Women's Trade Union League
- The Meiji and Taisho Eras in Photographs
- The Oxford Movement: Tractarian Pamphlets at Pusey House: The Halifax and Church Sub-Collections
- The Photographic News, 1859-1908
- The Woman Worker 1908-1910
- Votes for Women
- Wandering Minstrels Archive
- Woodhull & Claflin's Weekly
- Working Class Movement Card Catalogue
- Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa

Google Images
Over 10 billion images are available. The quality of the images vary and may be subject to copyright restrictions.
Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory is the gateway to 9 million digitized items organized into 100 thematic collections from the Library of Congress’s vast resources that document U.S. history and culture. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
This online catalog features nearly one million digital images taken from the Library's 50+ collections of prints and photographs. Included are images from the National Child Labor Committee Collection, the U.S. News and World Report Magazine Photograph Collection, the Library of Congress Baseball Card Collection, and the Collection of Architecture, Design and Engineering Drawings
nappy by Shade
Nappy was launched to provide beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people. Nappy makes it easy to be purposeful about representation in designs, presentations, and courses. All photos posted on nappy are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license so you can download, modify, share, distribute, or use them for whatever you want for free. In fact, we encourage it. The more you use them, the more we’re helping improve the representation of black and brown people in media.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore over 800,000 digitized items. This site is a living database with new materials added every day featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video and more.
Pexels
The world's first inclusive free stock photo & video library, Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos and videos. All photos are tagged, searchable and easy to discover through their discover pages.
Pixabay
Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under Creative Commons CC0, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes.
VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service)
VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) has provided services to the academic community for 20 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 140,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research.
Wikipedia: Public Domain Image Resources: DRAWINGS
This site lists a number of sources of public domain images on the Web. The presence of a resource on this list does not guarantee that all or any of the images in it are in the public domain. You are still responsible for checking the copyright status of images.
Wikipedia: Public Domain Image Resources: PAINTINGS
Wikipedia: Public Domain Image Resources: PHOTOGRAPHY
World Digital Library
Digital library of primary materials from across the globe.

Europeana is a web portal created by the European Union containing digitized cultural heritage collections of more than 3,000 institutions across Europe.

Umbra Search

Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through this website.

Advertising

Ad*Access
A digital collection from Duke University of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Advertising Archive
An online searchable collection of over 50,000 images of press and TV advertising, magazines, cinema posters, ephemera, and comics.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Another digital collection from Duke University of over 9,000 images from the United States' early history of advertising.
History of Advertising Trust
A large archive of UK advertising history. Currently, every entry to the British Television Advertising Awards from 1977 to the present are available online (Arrows Archive). Although there is not an online database of images, they welcome research requests.
Library of Congress American Memory: ADVERTISING: Broadsides and Printed Ephemera
Broadsides and Printed Ephemera: The collection contains, among other materials, posters, playbills, songsheets, notices, invitations, proclamations, petitions, timetables, leaflets, propaganda, manifestos, ballots, tickets, menus, and business cards. There are more than 28,000 items in the collection with 10,172 available online. The material dates from the seventeenth century to the present day and covers innumerable topics.
nappy by Shade
Nappy was launched to provide beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people. Nappy makes it easy to be purposeful about representation in designs, presentations, and courses. All photos posted on nappy are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license so you can download, modify, share, distribute, or use them for whatever you want for free. In fact, we encourage it. The more you use them, the more we’re helping improve the representation of black and brown people in media.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
The New York Public Digital Library contains many collections of images that are constantly being added to. Collections that may contain images related to advertising: American Popular Song Sheet Covers, 1890-1922, Turn of the Century Posters, and Art from the George Arents Collection on Tobacco.

African Studies

Aavaa: African and Asian Visual Artists Archive
Aavaa had grown to become the most comprehensive slide archive of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period...The collection holds a diverse and distinctive range of material available for research. Aavaa's main objective is to document, collect and encourage reflection on the artistic developments that have taken place in Britain and internationally since the latter part of the twentieth century. The archive houses over 6,000 slides of artworks and exhibitions, as well as publications and videos about and by artists. There are over 200 individual artist folders, as well as curators, art historians, cultural critics and arts organization files.
National Museum of African Art
The National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution, features African art from antiquity to the present. Search by artist or object, browse highlighted themes or exhibitions within our collection, or create your own list to share. This website is updated regularly, so please visit again for updates.
Northwestern University Library: 16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
This collection features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies.
Northwestern University Library: Ifeoma Onyefulu Photographs
Photographs are primarily portraits, mostly of Nigerian women, taken between 1990-1994. Several are reproduced in the photographer's publication, A is for Africa.
Northwestern University Library: Vernon McKay Photographs
These images of African daily life date from the mid-20th century. Photographs come from the following countries and territories: Basutoland, Belgian Congo, Dahomey, French Equatorial Africa, French Guinea, French Togoland, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Mauritania, Niger (French), Nigeria, Northern Rhodesia, Ruanda-Urundi, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Southern Rhodesia, Southwest Africa, Tanganyika, and Tunisia.
Ross Archive of African 1590 - 1920
The Ross Archive of African Images is a comprehensive database of approximately 5000 pictures of African art published before 1921. The Archive aspires to include all the figurative African objects in books, periodicals, catalogues, newspapers, and other publications appearing in 1920 and earlier - the oldest dates to 1591. The Archive does not include postcards or pamphlets of limited distribution, and focuses exclusively on figurative art. It is based mainly on the James J. Ross library augmented by publications from the libraries of Yale University and a few other institutions.
Smithsonian National Museum of African Art
Explore the exceptional beauty, diversity, and contemporary relevance of Africa’s art.
University of Wisconsin Digital Collection: Africa Focus
This is the largest collection of Africa images and sound clips freely available on the web, with all of materials donated to the African Studies Program of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, over the last 50 years, most by their own faculty. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.
University of Wisconsin Digital Collection: African Studies Collection
This collection includes published materials as well as archival documents. The items were digitized from a variety of formats including books, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs, maps, and other resources.

African-American

nappy by Shade
Nappy was launched to provide beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people. Nappy makes it easy to be purposeful about representation in designs, presentations, and courses. All photos posted on nappy are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license so you can download, modify, share, distribute, or use them for whatever you want for free. In fact, we encourage it. The more you use them, the more we’re helping improve the representation of black and brown people in media.
Eye for Ebony
Eye for Ebony goal is to create images that are VIBRANT, DIVERSE and TRUE TO LIFE. Models of all shades, shapes, and sizes. Here are 27 royalty free images.
NYPL Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Digital Projects
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of The New York Public Library offers collections of images and manuscripts relating to African-American history — as well as an online exhibitions page. Visitors to the site can learn about African-American women writers of the 19th century, the history of Harlem from 1900 to 1940, Malcolm X, and the African presence in the Americas from 1492 to 1992.
NYPL Digital Collection Africana & Black History
This digital compilation was developed in support of the NYPL website, "The African American Migration Experience," a sweeping 500-year historical narrative from the transatlantic slave trade to the Western migration, the colonization movement, the Great Migration, and the contemporary immigration of Caribbeans, Haitians, and sub-Saharan Africans.

Americas

Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution)
The Archives of American Art, part of the Smithsonian Institution, is a huge collection of over 16 million primary source materials consisting of diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, films, audio recordings, video recordings, and many more artifacts documenting American culture.
ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library makes available more than 1.4+ million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Audubon's Birds of America
This University of Pittsburgh website presents the complete double elephant folio set of Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological Biography.
Library of Congress American Memory
This site is a portal to the Library of Congress' vast digital collections about American history and creativity.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people. With more than 1 million digital images, the online catalog is one of the largest digital image databases in the world.
Maya Vase Database
The Maya Vase Database is an archive of rollout and still photographs of vases, plates and bowls, from the various cultures of Mesoamerica. The objects pictured are from archaeological sites, museums and collections throughout Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Belize, the Unites States, Canada and Europe .
NYPL Digital Collections
NYPL Digital Gallery offers thousands of digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Collections cover artworks and objects, creators, dance, design, furniture, motion pictures, music, ornament, performance, spectacle, theatre, advertising, book binding, dust jackets, friendship books, menus, post cards, posters, trade and greeting cards. Collections include Bernice Abbott's WPA Changing New York photographs, 'Classic 6:' New York City Apartment Building Living 1880s-1910s, Metropolis: New York City Water and Transit Infrastructure in Photographs, and many more.
Smithsonian Libraries Image Gallery
A selection of book illustrations, photos, drawings, and other images from across the Libraries.

Anthropology

ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library makes available more than 1.4+ million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
British Museum Collection Online
The Museum’s collection online offers everyone unparalleled access to objects in the collection. The largest 2D images available on this platform are 750 pixels wide at 72 dpi. For most objects, you can also request high resolution images (with the longest edge at 2,500 pixels, which will appear at a maximum of 21 cm when printed at 300 dpi) for use under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) licence.
CAS Anthropology Collection Database
The entire Anthropology collection is available for virtual viewing via our searchable online database. The database includes digital images of the entire collection. Objects with older images may have lower quality photographs.
HOLLIS Images
HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public.

Architecture

The AIIS Center for Art and Archaeology
The AIIS (American Institute of Indian Studies) Center for Art and Archaeology, is an international leader in the documentation of Indic art and architecture. The CA&A Archive documents and maintains images and architectural plans for more than 7000 monuments and ancient buildings The approximately 120,000 images are searchable on this site.
ArchNet Digital Library
ArchNet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations. This part of their website contains access to thousands of images available for educational use.
ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library makes available more than 1.4+ million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Asian Historical Architecture
A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Here you can view over 30,000 photos of 1,194 sites in twenty-two countries, with background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors.
Cities and Buildings Database
University of Washington's "Cities and Buildings Database" is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. Begun in 1995, the collection was conceived as a multi-disciplinary resource for students, faculty, and others in the academic community. It has grown steadily since then, with contributions from a wide range of scholars, and contains images ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages, to the Parc de la Villette, and conceptual sketches and models of Frank Gehry's Experience Music Project. These have all been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. They are freely available to anyone with access to the Web for use in the classroom, student study, or for individual research purposes. Researchers can now search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.
Pictures of American Cities (National Archive)
A selection of photographs listed in this publication depicts the city. its development, and its people and their way of life from the early 19th century to recent times. They were selected for their aesthetic quality and historical relevance to the development of urban America.
University of Michigan Art, Architecture and Engineering Library, Lantern Slide Collection
Digital images created from lantern slides showing architecture, cities, and landscapes from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection consists of approximately 17,000 lantern slides of architectural and geographic topics. Lantern slides are glass slides that were used from the late nineteenth century through the mid-twentieth century.

Art

Art Images for College Teaching
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community. While the AICT site is maintained and distributed under the general auspices of the Minneapolis College of Art & Design (MCAD), this institution is not responsible for content or use thereof. All work on the AICT project has been voluntary, and MCAD-affiliated personnel have contributed innumerable hours of research, clerical, and design effort on a pro-bono basis. Use of the images displayed on this website has also been contributed on a non-royalty basis for the public good.

Asian Studies

Aavaa: African and Asian Visual Artists Archive
Aavaa had grown to become the most comprehensive slide archive of contemporary visual art by artists of African and Asian descent working in the UK since the post-war period...The collection holds a diverse and distinctive range of material available for research. Aavaa's main objective is to document, collect and encourage reflection on the artistic developments that have taken place in Britain and internationally since the latter part of the twentieth century. The archive houses over 6,000 slides of artworks and exhibitions, as well as publications and videos about and by artists. There are over 200 individual artist folders, as well as curators, art historians, cultural critics and arts organization files.

Classical Studies - Sites and Artifacts

American Academy in Rome Digital Collections
Digitized historical photographs and drawings from the American Academy's collections; includes images from sites, monuments, and excavations in Italy; collections can be searched together or browsed separately.

Environment

DOCUMERICA
Documerica was a program sponsored by the Environmental Protection Agency to photographically document subjects of environmental concern in America during the 1970s. The images were made by approximately 70 well-known photographers contracted by the EPA for this project. Photographers included Danny Lyon, Gene Daniels, Marc St. Gill, Bill Strode, Charles O'Rear, Jack Corn, Tomas Sennett, Yoichi Okamote, and Ken Hayman. Some of the subjects are beach and mountain scenes; urban areas including junk yards, streets, buildings traffic control; Amtrak; air and water pollution; waterfronts; mining scenes; and people. Areas included are National Parks and Forests, Lake Tahoe, the Great Lakes, the Alaskan Pipeline, Hawaii, Washington, D.C. and cities throughout the United States, and Yugoslavia and Austria. This series consists of 35mm color slides and black and white negatives and prints.

Fashion

London College of Fashion College Archive
The London College of Fashion College Archive is a collection of historical materials which chronicle the history of the College from its origins as two early needle trade schools up until the 1970's. This database contains images of black-and-white and sepia photographs from the Archive depicting a wide range of subjects taught at the schools over the years. These include, fashion, design, clothing technology, dressmaking, tailoring, millinery, furriery, upholstery, embroidery, beauty, hairdressing, wigmaking, physical education, science, drama, and general studies. Also included, are images of photographs which provide an insight into events and activities related to the colleges, for example, the education of women and men, student club activities, school visits, World War II evacuations, a Royal Visit by the Queen Mother, various ceremonial openings, and the architecture of the colleges and other buildings.
London College of Fashion: Cordwainers Shoe Collection
The shoe collection, of around 650 items, was built up by Cordwainers College as a teaching aid and it consists mainly of women's shoes with some men's and a few children's, the majority being British "fashion" footwear with some orthopaedic, some prize and exhibition work, lasts and shoemaker's tools and some ethnic footwear. A number of the items are unfinished, or cut to show technical details, and others show alterations or repairs.
London College of Fashion: The Woolmark Company
The International Wool Secretariat, now The Woolmark Company, was established in 1937 to undertake research and the global promotion of wool. To that end, they built up a large library of promotional photographs and accompanying press releases which they generously donated to the London College of Fashion in the 1980's when they relocated and were short of space. The two thousand or so black and white photographs date from the 1940's through to the early 1980's and capture both the fashion of the time and the style of photography.The press releases, which in some cases are still attached to the photographs, give additional information about the garments, designers/manufacturers, the photographer and any points of interest reflecting the promotional style and language of the time
The Textiles Collection - University for the Creative Arts at Farnham
The University for the Creative Arts at Farnham's Textile's collection consists of over 3,000 artefacts. Woven textiles range from an important collection of Coptic textiles from 800-1000 AD through to British woollen cloths, Kashmir shawls, African strip weaving and Scandinavian furnishing fabrics from 1950 to 1990.
University of Southampton Winchester School of Art: Pockets of History
The Pockets of History collection is made for everyone interested in historic dress and textiles from a general or a specialist perspective. It is a unique visual archive of many surviving examples of women's tie-on pockets of the 1700s and 1800s. It is also designed to tell the story of the social and cultural life of these once common, now largely forgotten objects. The website can be searched in different ways so if you are a designer, maker or embroiderer looking for ideas and inspiration, or a curator, conservator or historian in search of references and sources, or a newcomer to this area of interest, there should be relevant material for you.
University of Wisconsin Digital Collection: Commemorative Fabrics from Africa
A collection of machine-made commemorative textiles from various African countries. This collection provides researchers access to digitized fabrics that are printed with images and text documenting events and individuals of historical, political, religious, economic, educational, and sociological significance to African societies.

Latin American

Essex Collection of Art from Latin America (ESCALA)
The Essex Collection of Art from Latin America (ESCALA) is the only public collection in Europe dedicated exclusively to modern and contemporary art from Latin America. The collection was founded in 1993 when Charles Cosac, then an MA student in the Department of Art History and Theory at University of Essex, donated Siron Franco's dramatic painting 'Memória' to the University. The Collection has since grown to more than 600 works through the generosity of many other donors, artists, supporters and friends, and the holdings now represent some of the best modern and contemporary artists.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ)

Disabled And Here Collection: LGBTQ+
"Disabled And Here Collection" is a disability-led effort to provide free and inclusive stock photos shot from our own perspective, featuring disabled BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) across the Pacific Northwest.
Gender Spectrum Collection (stock photos)
Photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés of putting on makeup and holding trans flags. This collection aims to better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives. In this library, they included each model’s gender identification in the caption of each photo, in order to help people avoid making assumptions when choosing images. In editorial contexts, however, they and we wouldn’t mention someone’s gender identity in a caption or article unless it is relevant to the story.

Maps

Northwestern University Library: 16th-Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
This collection features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A collection of digitized maps from the University of Texas at Austin. The online collection currently consists of 70,000 map images.

Photography

DOCUMERICA
Documerica was a program sponsored by the Environmental Protection Agency to photographically document subjects of environmental concern in America during the 1970s. The images were made by approximately 70 well-known photographers contracted by the EPA for this project. Photographers included Danny Lyon, Gene Daniels, Marc St. Gill, Bill Strode, Charles O'Rear, Jack Corn, Tomas Sennett, Yoichi Okamote, and Ken Hayman. Some of the subjects are beach and mountain scenes; urban areas including junk yards, streets, buildings traffic control; Amtrak; air and water pollution; waterfronts; mining scenes; and people. Areas included are National Parks and Forests, Lake Tahoe, the Great Lakes, the Alaskan Pipeline, Hawaii, Washington, D.C. and cities throughout the United States, and Yugoslavia and Austria. This series consists of 35mm color slides and black and white negatives and prints.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
This online catalog features nearly one million digital images taken from the Library's 50+ collections of prints and photographs. Included are images from the National Child Labor Committee Collection, the U.S. News and World Report Magazine Photograph Collection, the Library of Congress Baseball Card Collection, and the Collection of Architecture, Design and Engineering Drawings
Library of Congress Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The images span from 1875 to 1938 but largely were created in the years between 1913 and 1922. The images depict the tactics used by the militant wing of the suffrage movement in the United States—including picketing, petitioning, pageants, parades and demonstrations, hunger strikes and imprisonment---as well as individual portraits of organization leaders and members. The photographs document the National Woman's Party's push for ratification of the 19th Amendment as well as its later efforts for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment.
New York Public Library Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division
The Photographs and Prints Division contains both documentary and fine art photographs, which document the history and culture of people of African descent worldwide as well as the work of photographers of African descent. The collection of over 300,000 images ranges from mid-eighteenth century graphics to contemporary documentary and art photography; all of the major photographic processes are represented.
Northwestern University Library: Vernon McKay Photographs
These images of African daily life date from the mid-20th century. Photographs come from the following countries and territories: Basutoland, Belgian Congo, Dahomey, French Equatorial Africa, French Guinea, French Togoland, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Mauritania, Niger (French), Nigeria, Northern Rhodesia, Ruanda-Urundi, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Southern Rhodesia, Southwest Africa, Tanganyika, and Tunisia.
Photograph Archive from the Smithsonian American Art Museum Peter A. Juley & Son Collection of the Ashcan School
The Peter A. Juley & Son Collection is a rich archival resource for the study of the Ashcan School, an informal association of six American artists who captured scenes of urban life in the early decades of the twentieth century. The New York photography firm Peter A. Juley & Son (active 1906-1975) photographed over 1,000 works of art by Robert Henri, George Luks, John Sloan, Everett Shinn, William Glackens, and George Bellows. These photographs, some providing important visual documentation of subsequently altered, damaged or lost works, have been digitized and are now accessible to researchers online.
Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives
"Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives," commemorates the end of the 20th century with a selection of photographs from the vast and varied holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). NARA photographs vividly capture the sweeping changes of the last one hundred years. They depict both the mundane and high political drama, society's failings as well as its triumphs, war's ugliness as well as its bravery. This exhibition is arranged in chronological "galleries" as well as seven "portfolios" of talented photographers well represented in NARA's holdings. (Based on an exhibition at the National Archives, Washington, DC March 12, 1999-July 4, 2001)
University of Chicago: Hensley Photo Library
The Hensley Collection is comprised of photographs taken during World War II by an American serviceman, Glenn S. Hensley. The images include a rich array of photographs taken in Calcutta during 1943-44 by Mr. Hensley, a professional photographer participating in the surveillance of the Japanese in Burma for the U.S. Army. During his off-duty time Mr. Hensley used his ethnographer's eye to capture daily life in a number of locations around India. The majority of the images are from Calcutta and its environs. Other locations in this collection are Madras, Kharagpur, Agra, and Burma. The photographs and notes were prepared by Hensley for his wife to use in teaching world history courses in Missouri during World War II.
Wikipedia: Public Domain Image Resources: PHOTOGRAPHY

Gale Primary Sources: Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a global digitization program focusing on primary sources from the long nineteenth century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and more in diverse languages.
Collections
- "The Whitechapel Murders Papers: Letters Relating to the ""Jack the Ripper"" Killings"
- Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia: Minutes and Correspondence
- Action Sociale De La Femme Et Le Livre Francaise
- African Mail
- African World
- American Medical Periodicals
- Annales de l'Extreme Orient et de l'Afrique
- Archives of the Royal Literary Fund
- Astronomy and Astrophysics
- Britannia: Official Organ of the Women's Party
- British Admiralty Office Photographs
- British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political and Economic Sciences: 1800-1947
- British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1916
- British Colonial Office: Photographic Collection
- British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905
- British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1906-1913: Dominance of the Genro
- British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1914-1923: Emergence of Japan as a Pacific Power
- British Journal of Photography and Annual, 1854-1914
- British Labour History Ephemera
- British Playbills, 1780-1861
- British Trade Union History Collection
- Bulletins du Comite de l'Afrique francaise
- Civil Disturbance, Chartism and Riots in Nineteenth Century England
- Civil Engineering
- Colonial Africa Newspapers from the British Library
- Colonial Defence Commission under Lord Carnarvon
- Color Theory and Practice
- Crystal Palace Handel Triennial
- Crystal Palace Saturday Concerts
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Amoy, China, 1844-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Antung, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Bangkok, Siam, 1856-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Batavia, Java, Netherlands East Indies, 1818-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Bathurst, Gambia, British Africa, 1857-1889
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Boma, Congo, 1888-1895
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Canton, China, 1790-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Cape Town, Cape Colony, 1800-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chefoo, China, 1863-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chinkiang, China, 1864-1902
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chunking, China, 1896-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Foochow, China, 1849-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Gaboon, 1856-1888
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Goree Dakar, French Africa, 1883-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Grand Bassa, Liberia, 1868-1882
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hakodate, Japan, 1856-1878
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hangchow, China, 1904-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hangchow, China, 1904-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hankow, China, 1861-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hong Kong, 1844-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Iloilo, Philippine Islands, 1876-1886
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Kanagawa, Japan, 1861-1897
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Lourenco Marques, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Macao, China, 1849-1869
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Manila, Philippine Islands, 1817-1899
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Mukden, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Nagasaki, Japan, 1860-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Nanking, China, 1902-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Newchwang, Manchuria, China, 1865-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Ningpo, China, 1853-1896
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Osaka and Hiogo (Kobe), Japan, 1868-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Padang, Sumatra, Netherlands East Indies, 1853-1898
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Pretoria, The Transvaal, 1898-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Saigon, Vietnam, 1889-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Santiago, Cape Verde Islands, 1818-1898
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Seoul, Korea, 1886-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Shanghai, China, 1847-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Sierra Leone, British Africa, 1858-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Singapore, Straits Settlements, 1833-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in St. Helena, British West Africa, 1831-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in St. Paul de Loanda, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1893
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Swatow, China, 1860-1881
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Tamatave, Madagascar, 1853-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Tientsin, China, 1868-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Yokohama, Japan, 1897-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Zanzibar, British Africa, 1836-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Ministers to China, 1843-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Japan, 1855-1906
- Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Korea, 1883-1905
- Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Siam, 1882-1906
- Deutsche Kolonialzeitung
- Diaries of Sir Frederic Madden
- Discontent and Authority, 1820-1840
- Drury Lane Receipts
- Drury Lane Theatre Archive
- Drury Lane under Sheridan, 1770-1812: Manuscript Plays and Correspondence
- Early Rare Photographic Books from the North Western Museum of Science and Industry Collection
- Early Rare Photographs from the Victoria and Albert Museum, London
- Economic and Social Investigations in England since 1833: Transactions of the Manchester Statistical Society, Parts One and Two
- Electricity and Electromagnetism
- English Stage after the Restoration, 1726–1849
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
- Evolution and the Origin of Species
- Exploration and Colonization of Africa
- German Colonialism in Africa: Selections from the Kolonialbibliothek (Colonial Library) Collection
- History of Photograpy
- History of Women
- History of the Philippine Insurrection Against the United States, 1899-1903, and Documents Relating to the War Department Project for Publishing of History, 1899-1903
- Home Office Papers and Records
- Home Office: Disturbances Entry Books
- Home Office: Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861
- Home Office: Domestic Entry Books
- Home Office: Post Office Correspondence
- Home Office: Registered Papers
- Hue and Cry and Police Gazette
- International Population Census, Africa
- JW Davison Papers
- Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period
- Joseph Chamberlain Papers Relating to Africa
- King's Theatre Haymarket Archive
- Konzert Programm Austausch
- Lord Chamberlain's Plays
- Mary Braddon Archive
- Mathematics
- Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912: Africa
- Minutes of Treaty Conferences between U.S. and Japanese Representatives, and Treaty Drafts, 1872
- Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912 (China, Japan, Korea)
- Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1912-1949 (China, Japan, Korea)
- Missionary and Socio-Economic Journals
- Myrtilla Miner Papers
- Nineteenth-Century Photographs from the Royal Archives, Windsor
- Notes from the Chinese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1868-1906
- Notes from the Japanese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1858-1906
- Notes from the Korean Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1883-1906
- Notes from the Siamese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1876-1906
- Oratorio Concert Programmes
- Ordnance Surveyors' Drawings, 1789-1840
- Our Corner
- Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt
- Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton
- Papers of Great British Statesmen and Politicians, Series One: The Papers and Correspondence of Charles James Fox, 1749-1806
- Papers of the Prime Ministers of Great Britain, Series Two: Sir Robert Peel (Prime Minister, 1834-5, 1841-5 and 1845-6)
- People's History: Working Class Autobiographies
- Personal Narratives and Reminiscences of the Exploration of Africa
- Photographs from the India Collection at the British Library
- Photographs from the National Media Museum
- Photographs from the Royal Photographic Society Collection
- Photographs from the Science Museum
- Photographs from the Talbot Collection at the British Library
- Photographs from the Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine
- Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain, Part Two: The Sabine Baring-Gould and Thomas Crampton Collections
- Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain, Parts Three-Ten: The Barry Ono Collection of Bloods and Penny Dreadfuls
- Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures
- Public Order, Discontent, and Protest in Nineteenth Century England, 1820-1850
- Publications of the Cape Colony
- Publications of the Natal Colony
- Quaker Women's Diaries: 18th-19th Centuries
- Queen's Hall Programmes
- Radical Politics and the Working Man in England
- Radicalism, Anti-Radicalism and Reform in England, 1769-1861: Original Papers and Minute Books
- Radicals and Reformers in Britain: The Papers of John Cam Hobhouse, 1809-1869
- Rare Freethought Militant 19th Century Books
- Rare Radical and Labour Periodicals of Great Britain
- Records Relating to the United States Surveying Expedition to the North Pacific Ocean, 1852-1863.
- Records of the Copyright Office of the Stationers' Company: Photographs
- Report of the Boundary Survey between British Bechuanaland and German Southwest Africa of 1898-1903
- Reports of Explorations Printed in the Documents of the United States Government
- Royal Albert Hall
- Royal Philharmonic Society Archive
- Royal Philharmonic Society Music Manuscripts
- Scientific and Technical Periodicals from the Royal Society of London's Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900
- Selected Africa Collections from the Bodleian Library
- Selected Cabinet Papers on Africa
- Selected Colonial Office Files on Africa
- Selected Dominions Office Files on Africa
- Selected Foreign Office Files on Africa
- Selected India Office Records on Colonial Africa
- Selected Maps and Plans Files on Africa
- Selected Narratives and Reminiscences on Colonial Africa
- Selected Records of the U.S. Consulate in Bangkok, Siam, 1856-1912
- Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in China, 1849-1931
- Selected Records of the U.S. Legation in Japan, 1855-1912
- Selected War Office Files on Africa
- Sir George Smart Papers
- Sir George Smart Programmes
- St James Hall Monday/Saturday Popular Concerts
- Suffragist
- The Bauduin Collection of Photographs
- The Diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845
- The Hill and Adamson Albums: photographs by David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson, 1843-1848
- The Journal of the American National Women's Trade Union League
- The Meiji and Taisho Eras in Photographs
- The Oxford Movement: Tractarian Pamphlets at Pusey House: The Halifax and Church Sub-Collections
- The Photographic News, 1859-1908
- The Woman Worker 1908-1910
- Votes for Women
- Wandering Minstrels Archive
- Woodhull & Claflin's Weekly
- Working Class Movement Card Catalogue
- Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa

Technology

#WOCinTech (Women In Tech Stock Photos)
Visible representations of women of color engaging in technical tasks available under a Creative Commons (Attribution) license. This means that you may copy, distribute, and display the images as long as you attribute #WOCinTech Chat. Otherwise, you are free to use them as you wish. Just as white women have been the default “woman” in technology and American society as a whole, #WOCinTech believe the underlying belief of what it means to be — and who can be — a tech worker in the 21st century can benefit from this form of “disruption”.

For these shoots, we wanted to have a more expansive collection of shots that featured women of color technologists doing what they do in their actual day-to-day: lead meetings, brainstorm, whiteboard with colleagues, and code, while staying true to what real tech office environments look like.

Women's Studies

Library of Congress Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The images span from 1875 to 1938 but largely were created in the years between 1913 and 1922. The images depict the tactics used by the militant wing of the suffrage movement in the United States—including picketing, petitioning, pageants, parades and demonstrations, hunger strikes and imprisonment---as well as individual portraits of organization leaders and members. The photographs document the National Woman's Party's push for ratification of the 19th Amendment as well as its later efforts for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment.
Gender Spectrum Collection (stock photos)
Photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés of putting on makeup and holding trans flags. This collection aims to better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives. In this library, they included each model’s gender identification in the caption of each photo, in order to help people avoid making assumptions when choosing images. In editorial contexts, however, they and we wouldn’t mention someone’s gender identity in a caption or article unless it is relevant to the story.
#WOCinTech (Women In Tech Stock Photos)
Visible representations of women of color engaging in technical tasks available under a Creative Commons (Attribution) license. This means that you may copy, distribute, and display the images as long as you attribute #WOCinTech Chat. Otherwise, you are free to use them as you wish. Just as white women have been the default “woman” in technology and American society as a whole, #WOCinTech believe the underlying belief of what it means to be — and who can be — a tech worker in the 21st century can benefit from this form of “disruption”.

For these shoots, we wanted to have a more expansive collection of shots that featured women of color technologists doing what they do in their actual day-to-day: lead meetings, brainstorm, whiteboard with colleagues, and code, while staying true to what real tech office environments look like.
Women's Library: Suffrage Collection
The Women's Library is the oldest and largest collection of women's history in the UK. It was founded in 1926 as the Library of the London Society for Women's Service, a non militant organization led by leading suffragist, Millicent Fawcett. It is now held by the London School of Economics and is an internationally acclaimed specialist Library, Archive and Museum with collections that have broadened since the Library's inception to include a wide range of subjects which focus on the lives of women in Britain. The emphasis is primarily on women in Britain, but some international material is included. The library houses the Suffrage Image Collection, Museum Objects, Posters, Photographs and Postcards. As at 2011, The Women's Library held approximately 1200 photographs in the Museum Collection, with an additional c.4600 photographs identified in the archives.

Library & Academic IT

Library &

Academic IT

Image Resources