LibGuides: CISC 3325 Information Security: Topic-Based Materials

Introduction to Information Security

Chapter 1: Introduction to Security (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 1: Introduction to Security." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 3-12. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+1:+introduction+to+security
Chapter 2: History of Computer Security (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 2: History of Computer Security." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 13-25. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+2:+history+of+computer+security
Introduction to Information Security: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Introduction to Information Security: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_01/01.html
Introduction to Information Security: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Introduction to Information Security: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_01_lecture_notes.pdf

Key Terms & Principles in InfoSec

Chapter 3: Key Concepts and Principles (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 3: Key Concepts and Principles." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 29-62. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+3:+key+concepts+and+principles
Key Terms & Principles in InfoSec: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Key Terms & Principles in InfoSec: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_02/01.html
Key Terms & Principles in InfoSec: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Key Terms & Principles in InfoSec: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_02_lecture_notes.pdf

Access Control Methods

Chapter 4: Access Controls (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 4: Access Controls." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 63-76. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+4:+access+controls
Chapter 14: Physical Security and Biometrics (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 14: Physical Security and Biometrics." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 293-306. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+14:+physical+security+and+biometrics
Chapter 1: Physical Security (pdf)
Citation: Salomon, David. "Chapter 1: Physical Security." Elements of computer security. Springer Science & Business Media, 2010, pp. 17-35.
URL: https://link-springer-com.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/content/pdf/10.1007/978-0-85729-006-9.pdf#1+physical+security
Access Control: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Access Control: Lecture Notes." 22 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_03/01.html
Access Control: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Access Control: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_03_lecture_notes.pdf

Cryptography

Chapter 8: Cryptography (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 8: Cryptography." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 163-181. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+8:+cryptography
Cryptography: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Cryptography: Lecture Notes." 22 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_04/01.html
Cryptography: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Cryptography: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_04_lecture_notes.pdf

Application & Web Security

Chapter 6: Application and Web Security (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 6: Application and Web Security." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 115-139. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+6:+application+and+web+security
Application & Web Security: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Application & Web Security: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_05/01.html
Application & Web Security: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Application & Web Security: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_05_lecture_notes.pdf

Malware vs. Anti-Virus Software

Chapter 7: Malicious Software and Anti-Virus Software (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 7: Malicious Software and Anti-Virus Software." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 141-161. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+7:+malicious+software+and+anti-virus+software
Chapter 6: Prevention and Defense (pdf)
Citation: Salomon, David. "Chapter 6: Prevention and Defense." Elements of computer security. Springer Science & Business Media, 2010, pp. 151-177
URL: https://link-springer-com.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/content/pdf/10.1007/978-0-85729-006-9.pdf#6+prevention+and+defense
Malware vs. Anti-Virus Software: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Malware vs. Anti-Virus Software: Lecture Notes." 22 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_06/01.html
Malware vs. Anti-Virus Software: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Malware vs. Anti-Virus Software: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_06_lecture_notes.pdf

Social Engineering

Chapter 15: Social Engineering (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 15: Social Engineering." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 307-323. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+15:+social+engineering
Chapter 10: Identity Theft (pdf)
Citation: Salomon, David. "Chapter 10: Identity Theft." Elements of computer security. Springer Science & Business Media, 2010, pp. 255-271.
URL: https://link-springer-com.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/content/pdf/10.1007/978-0-85729-006-9.pdf#10+identity+theft
Chapter 11: Privacy and Trust (pdf)
Citation: Salomon, David. "Chapter 11: Privacy and Trust." Elements of computer security. Springer Science & Business Media, 2010, pp. 273-290.
URL: https://link-springer-com.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/content/pdf/10.1007/978-0-85729-006-9.pdf#11+privacy+and+trust
Social Engineering: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Social Engineering: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_07/01.html
Social Engineering: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Social Engineering: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_07_lecture_notes.pdf

Networks & Network Security

Chapter 9: Understanding Networks and Network Security (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 9: Understanding Networks and Network Security." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 187-204. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+9:+understanding+networks+and+network+security
Chapter 7: Network Security (pdf)
Citation: Salomon, David. "Chapter 7: Network Security." Elements of computer security. Springer Science & Business Media, 2010, pp. 179-208.
URL: https://link-springer-com.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/content/pdf/10.1007/978-0-85729-006-9.pdf#7+network+security
Networks & Network Security: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Networks & Network Security: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_08/01.html
Networks & Network Security: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Networks & Network Security: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_08_lecture_notes.pdf

Firewalls

Chapter 10: Firewalls (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 10: Firewalls." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 205-223. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+10:+firewalls
Chapter 7, Section 6: Firewall Basics (pdf)
Citation: Salomon, David. "Chapter 7, Section 6: Firewall Basics." Elements of computer security. Springer Science & Business Media, 2010, pp. 202-205.
URL: https://link-springer-com.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/content/pdf/10.1007/978-0-85729-006-9.pdf#7.6+firewall+basics
Firewalls: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Firewalls: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_09/01.html
Firewalls: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Firewalls: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_09_lecture_notes.pdf

Intrusion Detection & Prevention

Chapter 11: Intrusion Detection and Prevention Systems (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 11: Intrusion Detection and Prevention Systems." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 225-243. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+11:+intrusion+detection+and+prevention+systems
Intrusion Detection & Prevention: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Intrusion Detection & Prevention: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_10/01.html
Intrusion Detection & Prevention: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Intrusion Detection & Prevention: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_10_lecture_notes.pdf

Virtual Private Networks

Chapter 12: Virtual Private Networks (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 12: Virtual Private Networks." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 245-262. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+12:+virtual+private+networks
Virtual Private Networks: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Virtual Private Networks: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_11/01.html
Virtual Private Networks: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Virtual Private Networks: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_11_lecture_notes.pdf

Data Backups & Cloud Computing

Chapter 13: Data Backups and Cloud Computing (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 13: Data Backups and Cloud Computing." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 263-288. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+13:+data+backups+and+cloud+computing
Chapter 6, Section 4: Backups and Such (pdf)
Citation: Salomon, David. "Chapter 6, Section 4: Backups and Such." Elements of computer security. Springer Science & Business Media, 2010, pp. 168-173.
URL: https://link-springer-com.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/content/pdf/10.1007/978-0-85729-006-9.pdf#6.4+backups+and+such
Data Backups & Cloud Computing: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Data Backups & Cloud Computing: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_12/01.html
Data Backups & Cloud Computing: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Data Backups & Cloud Computing: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_12_lecture_notes.pdf

Current Trends in Wireless, Mobile, and Bluetooth Security

Chapter 16: Current Trends in Information Security (pdf)
Citation: Rao, Umesh Hodeghatta, and Umesha Nayak. "Chapter 16: Current Trends in Information Security." The InfoSec Handbook: An Introduction to Information Security. Springer Nature, 2014, https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8, pp. 325-330. License: CC BY-NC-ND: Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs.
URL: https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007/978-1-4302-6383-8.pdf#chapter+16:+current+trends+in+information+security
Current Trends in Wireless, Mobile, and Bluetooth Security: Lecture Notes (website)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Current Trends in Wireless, Mobile, and Bluetooth Security: Lecture Notes." 3 January 2024. HTML presentation. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/topic_13/01.html
Current Trends in Wireless, Mobile, and Bluetooth Security: Lecture Notes (pdf)
Citation: Briskman, Miriam. "Current Trends in Wireless, Mobile, and Bluetooth Security: Lecture Notes." 27 June 2024. PDF file. License: CC BY-ND 4.0: Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International.
URL: https://www.sci.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~briskman/cisc/3325/lecture_notes/pdfs/cisc_3325_topic_13_lecture_notes.pdf