Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page you can find links to open source sheet music sites, books available online from the CUNY libraries, or books that users have submitted as pdfs. All documents listed here are in compliance with copyright regulations.
Music Books through Brooklyn College Library
Sonic Boom by
Publication Date: 2002-07-11
Sonic Boom is a fascinating narrative of the controversy that's sending shock waves through the music industry. It reveals how even as the star-maker machinery of record companies remains in the hands of the old guard, innovators are finding ways to route around it. Part industry expose and part music history, Sonic Boom presents a candid and entertaining account of how digital compression technologies such as MP3 have brought out the best and worst in artists and consumers alike, and how the end result can be nothing less than a cultural and economic transformation. Peopled with a sensational cast of characters that includes rock stars, music moguls, teenagers, and Internet entrepreneurs, Sonic Boom exposes the recording industry's plight as a fascinating microcosm of the vast cultural, ethical, and legal issues that all industries face in the information age.
Ancient Greek Music by
Publication Date: 1994-04-14
Ancient Greece was permeated by music, and the literature teems with musical allusions. For most readers the subject has remained a closed book. Here at last is a clear, comprehensive account that presupposes no special knowledge of music. Topics covered include the place of music in Greek life; instruments; rhythm; tempo; modes and scales; melodic construction; form; ancient theory and notation; and historical development. Thirty surviving examples of Greek music are presented in modern transcription with analysis, and the book is fully illustrated. A brief Epilogue sets Greek music in the wider context in a border zone between Afro-Asiatic and European culture.
Sheet Music Websites
IMSLP stands for International Music Score Library Project. This site shares musical scores in the public domain. The logo is a capital letter A, taken from the very first press-printed book of polyphonic music, the Harmonice Musices Odhecaton, published in 1501. Its printer, Ottaviano Petrucci, is this library's namesake.
Lots of free and non-free modern scores and arrangements. Sibelius users may contribute. For free scores, the Print button gives access to the pdf.
19th-Century American Sheet Music Digitization Project (University of North Carolina)
The Nineteenth Century American Sheet Music Collection at the UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library includes approximately 3,500 popular vocal and instrumental titles from the 1830s to the end of the century. This site contains catalog descriptions and digital images of the individual pieces in the collection.
Historic American Sheet Music (Duke University)
The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Library of Congress American Memory Collections
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Gale Virtual Music Library
A virtual library with many articles and books available for those with Brooklyn College subscription rights.
Alexander Street Press: Music and Performing Arts
Audio, video, images, books, and more, for Brooklyn College users.
Oxford Music Online
Grove’s Dictionary of Music and Musicians, articles from New Grove 2001, Grove Opera, and Grove Jazz, Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Second editions of The Grove Dictionary of American Music and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments are still being put online, and new articles are added to GMO with each site update.