The best way to find published, scholarly articles on your topic is to use an article database, which allows you to search by topic and see in which journal and in which issue an article appears. Some databases, such as Academic Search Complete, cover journals in many fields, while others (for example, Medline, PsycINFO, SOCindex, or CINAHL) only cover journals in a specific field.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's database containing citations and abstracts in biomedicine and health sciences, crucial for health professionals in research, clinical care, public health, and health policy.
This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo is a go-to database for students, offering over 5 million records of credible, interdisciplinary psychology research across the behavioral and social sciences.
This link opens in a new windowGood for all topics, this comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database provides access to almost 9,000 full-text periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
PubMed.gov contains MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations and abstracts of journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health-care, and the preclinical sciences. It also provides citations to some additional literature and has additional medical search tools.
This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Health and Medicine is a resource for students, health researchers, and professionals, providing up-to-date information on a wide range of health care topics. It includes over 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos on medical procedures and live surgeries, ensuring current, scholarly, and comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
Scopus is a comprehensive abstract and citation database curated by leading experts. Researchers use its powerful discovery tools to explore research trends, monitor newly published work, and identify subject experts. Advanced search capabilities and analytics tools enable easy data visualization, comparison, and export.
A few databases to consider for creative projects (HNSC 3314 students):
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe Brooklyn College Library provides access to many journals. The links below will take you to the record for each journal title. Some journals are available in multiple databases, so you may see a list of a few different options.
Locating Full Text via FindIt@CUNY Button
If you identify an article where full text is not available, try the 
Findit@CUNY Button. FindIt@CUNY opens a new window, and indicates if your article is available full text in another database that the Brooklyn College Library subscribes to. If it is, simply click the “Full Text Online” link to access the full text. If it is not available full text online, one of the options is to search OneSearch to see whether the Library has it in print and/or to request the article via Interlibrary Loan.
