Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Television, Radio & Emerging Media: Databases

Background and Overview Sources

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources on a variety of subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover diverse perspectives with over 20,000 viewpoints, 19,000 reference articles, interactive maps, and infographics. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues, promoting evidence-based reasoning and civil discourse. It fosters critical thinking and media literacy skills with curated content from trusted sources like The New York Times and The Washington Post.
CQ Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Press offers authoritative and unbiased insights into major issues and the U.S. government's inner workings, combining historical and current perspectives. With databases dating back to George Washington’s election, it provides historical context and analytical tools for today’s issues.

Mass Media Databases

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This resource indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The theories and practices of socialism and revolution which this database covers inlcude: Ecology; Democracy and Anarchism; Feminism and Organized Labor; Indigenous Peoples; and Gays & Lesbians.
Coverage Includes:
- Socialism
- Revolution
- Ecology
- Democracy
- Anarchism
- Feminism
- Organized labor
- Indigenous peoples
- Gay, lesbian, queer, trans, LGBTQ+
- New social movements
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources. In total, several hundred valuable sources are covered.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Ethnic NewsWatch provides thousands of scholarly, full-text articles for area and ethnic studies, such as Jewish studies, African American studies, and Hispanic American studies. This database also has the largest full-text archive of Native American publications.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases.

Television and Film Data Basis

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals and 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for all topics, this comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database provides access to almost 9,000 full-text periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
Duke University Press e-Journals This link opens in a new window
Duke University Press publishes and distributes over 30 periodicals spanning diverse disciplines in the humanities and sciences, including cultural studies, history, LGBTQ studies, mathematics, economics, feminism, media studies, and medieval studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unlock a treasure trove of knowledge with JSTOR! Dive into over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources across 75 disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Full-text coverage begins in January 1994 for most titles.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Scripts and Screenplays

Actor Point
Offers full-text film scripts -- largely draft versions -- free to use for teaching and education purposes. Listed by genre and title.

BBC Script Library
Includes PDF format for scripts of BBC radio, television, and film productions. Adobe Acrobat needed for display.

The Daily Script
"a collection of movie scripts and screenplays to serve as a resource for writers and actors and those who simply enjoy reading movie scripts. The movie scripts are presented in proper script format (for the most part) and where possible, multiple drafts are presented." (site)

Internet Movie Script Database
NOTE: You don't need to download the Bamboo pdf software to read or copy a script. Click on the "Read [title] Script" link below the movie description. From there you can save the script as an HTML file, or Select All to copy, then paste the text into Word, etc. Mainly scripts from films released in the past 25 years. There is a great deal of advertising on this site

Library & Academic IT

Library &

Academic IT

Television, Radio & Emerging Media: Databases

Background and Overview Sources

Mass Media Databases

Coverage Includes:

Television and Film Data Basis

Additional Databases

Scripts and Screenplays