Search for books in OneSearch by keyword. Once you see results, limit to books on the left. You can limit to or exclude ebooks in "resource type."
A Quiet World by
"Drawing on both his own experiences and his expertise as a social psychologist, Myers recounts how he has coped with hearing loss and how he has incorporated technological aids into his life. The family and friends of the hard of hearing also face adjustments. Myers addresses their situation and provides advice for them on how best to alert loved ones to a hearing problem, persuade them to seek assistance, and encourage them to adjust to and use hearing aids."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Human Ear Canal by
Bopanna B. Ballachanda, PhD, holds a doctoral degree in auditory neurophysiology from the University of Texas-Dallas and is the founder and CEO of Premier Hearing Center, which has several audiology clinics in Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas. He has worked as an assistant professor of audiology at Purdue University and an associate professor in speech and hearing sciences and an adjunct associate professor in the department of otolaryngology at the University of New Mexico. Dr. Ballachanda is also a member of several professional and scientific societies, and has published articles in peer-reviewed journals. He spearheaded the first cerumen management workshop for audiologists in 1992 and is nationally and internationally recognized for his workshops and lectures on cerumen management. He was a member of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery task force that developed and published clinical practice guidelines for cerumen impaction in 2008, and he was elected to the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Audiology.
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Speech Pathology & Audiology: Evidence-Based Education is a valuable resource for faculty and doctoral students teaching in communication sciences and disorders programs. The book introduces those in higher education to the concepts key to the scholarship of teaching and learning (SOTL), how to use SOTL for professional development to improve learning outcomes, and how to begin engaging in SOTL. This text highlights how instructors can make use of existing SOTL research to improve teaching through the use of specific, evidence-based education strategies described in depth using specific classroom application vignettes and is the perfect guide for those just beginning to learn about university teaching, as well as more seasoned professionals who want to expand and improve their skills.
Not sure what you are looking for? You can use the call number prefixes to guide you to the right section of the stacks so you can browse the collection.
|
BF 251 |
Hearing, Psychology |
|
HV2350 |
Deaf. Sign Language |
|
P135 |
Sign Language |
|
QM507 |
Human Anatomy - Ear |
|
QP460 |
Hearing Physiology |
|
QP461 - QP471 |
Neurophysiology - Hearing - Physiological Acoustics |
|
RF110 - RF285 |
Otology - Diseases of the Ear |
|
RF290 - RF294 |
Audiology - Hearing Disorders |
|
RF294.5 |
Audiology - Special Tests and Methods |
|
RF298 - RF310 |
Hearing Disorders-Instruments |
Educational Audiology Handbook by
The Educational Audiology Handbook is the recognized standard for students being trained in and professionals working in educational settings. Its straightforward presentation of the scope of educational audiology practice, the establishment of high-quality programs, and full integration into the school staff are hallmarks of this practical and informative text. Chapter appendices throughout are filled with form letters, parent handouts, instruction sheets, and protocols making this resource the bible for audiology practice in the school setting. A CD containing the forms, parent letters, handouts, and instruction sheets from the book, in ready-to-use PDF and customizable formats, is included with the new edition.
The Sense of Hearing by
"The Sense of Hearing" is a truly accessible introduction to auditory perception that is intended for students approaching the subject for the first time, and as a foundation for more advanced study. In clear and authoritative prose, the fundamental aspects of hearing are addressed. The reader is introduced to the nature of sound and the spectrum, and the anatomy and physiology of the auditory system. Basic auditory processes including frequency selectivity, loudness and pitch perception, temporal resolution, and sound localization are explained. The reader is led to an understanding of the remarkable abilities of the auditory system in a systematic and coherent way. In the final chapters, it is shown how complex processes, such as perceptual organization and speech perception, are dependent on the initial analysis that occurs when sounds enter the ear. The text benefits from 139 original illustrations, including uncluttered diagrams that illuminate auditory mechanisms. An extensive glossary provides definitions of technical terms. The emphasis is on explanation and clarity of style throughout, and the book will be an essential resource for students and educators involved in this sometimes challenging field.
The Auditory System by
From well-known author, Frank Musiek, comes a new text designed to aid audiology students through the clinical portion of their experience. The Auditory System: Anatomy, Physiology, and Clinical Correlates takes an easy-to-understand approach to anatomy and physiology of the auditory system. Balanced coverage of peripheral and central auditory systems increase the readers' appreciation of the entire auditory system. Chapter 1 provides a quick reference and overview to the entire text. Integrated clinical correlates for anatomical and physiological information provide clinical relevance. Generous use of review articles and secondary sources enhances general understanding of the subject and a balanced mixture of anatomical sketches and photographs facilitates learning.
Hearing by
"Brimming with more than 1700 references, this reader-friendly and extensively revised Fourth Edition will prove invaluable to instructors and students alike - providing a unified approach to the anatomical, physiological, and perceptual aspects of audition with updated chapters on the latest developments in the field." "Maintaining the practical features that made previous editions so popular, this Fourth Edition offers an abundance of revised figures and tables for clear comprehension of key material in the text ... illustrates basic and critical concepts without requiring a background in mathematics or the physical and biological sciences ... offers a useful collection of references perfect for self-study and further research on the topic ... and supplies classroom-tested material - organizing topics to meet both students' and instructors' needs."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
