Start with OneSearch
It searches across hundreds of online AUTHORITATIVE encyclopedias, encyclopedias, handbooks, specialized dictionaries and guides. The entries are written by scholars. If your inclination is to start with a Wikipedia article, try this instead! The entries are written by scholars in a particular field. At the end of most articles, you will also see a bibliography or further reading list, which is a great way to start compiling a preliminary list of potential sources for your paper.
Use Filter my results on the right side column tto limit results to Reference Entries
Limit by date for the most recent materials
healthcare AND reform healthcare AND (United States or America)
prison AND reform prison AND privatization
perceptions of beauty beauty AND advertising beauty AND culture
decriminalizing sex work sex workers AND legislation
discrimination AND labor law
privacy AND (internet or social media)
gentrification AND <insert place>
Note that the entries are from a variety of subject encyclopedias, which can be helpful in understanding how different disciplines frame a particular topic. A scientific encyclopedia will approach color differently than an encyclopedia of religion, for example. This can be helpful in determining how you want to approach a topic.
Many of the entries will have bibliographies that you can use to identify more sources of information.
If you are already logged in for off-campus access, you will be taken straight into the database. If you are not yet logged in, you will be prompted to do so. (See the "Logging In Remotely" tab of this guide for instructions.)
When you need up to the minute information these databases will help you find reliable sources from scholarly sources, newspapers and websites representing a variety of perspectives.
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for researchers looking for information on their topic drawn from a variety of popular and scholarly sources. It includes a spectrum of viewpoints from reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Students can limit results to scholarly material.
CQ Researcher offers researchers original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Since 1923 CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. New Reports are added 44 times a year. it's single-themed reports are prepared by seasoned journalists, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. One particularly helpful feature allows researchers to track issues to easily find all related reports.