6. From the Library’s website, you will now have access to hundreds of different databases and search tools. To get started, click on the "Databases" link above the big search box (indicated by a blue arrow).

 

7. You will have the option to "Find Databases by Subject" or "Browse Databases by Title." Go to "Browse Databases by Title." 

8. Click on the letter G, then click on Gale eBooks. If you are already logged in for off-campus access, you will be taken straight into the database. If you are not yet logged in, you will be prompted to do so. (See the "Logging In Remotely" tab of this guide for instructions.)

This database (Gale eBooks) can be a good place to start when you’re just beginning research on your topic, and you're looking for background information or an overview. It searches across hundreds of online AUTHORITATIVE encyclopedias and the entries are written by scholars. If your inclination is to start with a Wikipedia article, try this instead!  The entries are written by scholars in a particular field. At the end of most articles, you will also see a bibliography or further reading list, which is a great way to start compiling a preliminary list of potential sources for your paper.

Sample searches:

     white AND (color OR colour)

     yellow AND (color OR colour)

     anti-racism

     soca music

     music AND Trinidad

     Enping China 

    "corner store" OR "general store" OR bodega

     Azerbaijan

     Azerbaijan AND history

     Azerbaijan AND religions

 

Sample search results from Gale eBooks:
 

Note that the entries are from a variety of subject encyclopedias, which can be helpful in understanding how different disciplines frame a particular topic. A scientific encyclopedia will approach color differently than an encyclopedia of religion, for example. This can be helpful in determining how you want to approach a topic. 

 

Sample paragraph (from sample article) in Gale eBooks: 

Sample bibliography (from sample article) in Gale eBooks:

If you see books in a bibliography that are of interest, you can do a title search (using the title of the book) in OneSearch, which is the next tab/database in this research guide. OneSearch searches the Library's collections and will let you know if the Library has a copy of the book you're looking for.