There are individual carrels throughout the Library, in both busy and quiet areas, as well as 2 dedicated silent study rooms:
There are large study tables located throughout the library where you can study with others.
Group study rooms for 2-6 people are outfitted with whiteboards and TV. Reserve one at the New Media Service Desk on the 2nd floor. They can also provide markers, erasers, and dongles upon request.
You can attend an online class anywhere in the library that is not a designated silent zone - please use headphones and keep noise to a minimum. Library computers only use headphones with a jack, which you can borrow at the service desk.
The LaGuardia Reading Room on the 2nd floor is the dedicated space for taking online (Zoom) classes on your device while visiting the Library. To gain access, go to the New Media Service Desk on the 2nd floor.
Use the BC WiFi network to stay connected. Login credentials are:
*FL = your CUNYfirst official First and Last initials (upper case)
MM/DD/YY = your 6-digit birthdate with "/" separators
The Library has 4 computer labs with hundreds of public computers for students to use: Lower Level, Reference and New Media Center in the Library building and also the Library Cafè on the first floor of Whitehead Hall. The New Media Center on the 2nd floor also offers 7-day laptop loans.
Use a Library computer or your own device to send documents to various print stations in the Library. Students are given a some funds for black and white printing each semester, and can add cash funds at the kiosk near the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor. The account information is the same as for WiFi, see above.
OneSearch is your one-stop resource to see if we have books you need for classes as well as research articles, streaming video and more!
Check out the LOOP Library Online Orientation.
You'll use your CUNYfirst login to authenticate from off campus and to view your library account.
| Chat live with a librarian | Submit a Question by form |
| Email us askbcref@cuny.libanswers.com. askbcref@cuny.libanswers.com |
|
| Visit us in-person at the Reference desk, 1st Fl. | Contact Your Subject Librarian |
You can visit CUNY Libraries with your CUNY ID. You can also request books from other CUNY Libraries be sent to the Brooklyn College Library for pick up! Select CUNY Libraries in OneSearch.
Workshops & Events |
Archives & Special Collections |
Music Library |
Art Collection |
| Check our website for updates on workshops on how to use Adobe or Microsoft tools and more. The Library also hosts events and exhibits throughout the year. | Check out our collections related to the Brooklyn College community, the Borough of Brooklyn, the papers of individuals with national or social importance, and more. By appointment only | One of the best music special collections in this greatest of musical cities including scores, books, audio and more on music and dance, located on the 2nd floor. | Did you know the Library doubles as an art gallery? Our collection includes paintings, drawings, sculptures, photography, and prints. Several of these artists live and work in Brooklyn’s dynamic art community, and they are all internationally recognized, with works in major museums around the world. Check ou highlights of the collection in this Library Art Tour. |
