Skip to main content
COVID-19 Update: THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! The Library building is closed; limited access to physical material.

ENGL 3123: Shakespearean Generations: Getting Started

Reference / GVRL

5. From the Library’s website, under the “Research” tab, you will now have access to a number of different databases and search engines (indicated by a blue arrow).

     undefined

6. You will have the option to "Find Databases by Subject" or "Browse Databases by Title." Go to "Browse Databases by Title." 

7. Click on the letter G, then click on Gale eBooks. If you are already logged in for off-campus access, you will be taken straight into the database. If you are not yet logged in, you will be prompted to do so. (See the "Logging In Remotely" tab of this guide for instructions.)

This is a good database to use when you’re just getting started doing research, and are looking for background information or an overview of a topic. It will not lead you to peer-reviewed articles, but it’s a highly recommended alternative to Wikipedia. Reference/GVRL searches across hundreds of authoritative online encyclopedias and reference works. For literary research, it will lead you to articles about a particular work’s themes, characters, imagery, critical reception, etc. At the end of most entries, you will also see a bibliography or further reading list, which can be a good way to start compiling a list of potential sources for your paper.

Sample searches:  “winter’s tale”

       witches AND Shakespeare

       Hermione AND “winter’s tale”

              undefined

 

Sample search results from Reference/GVRL:

undefined

 

Sample paragraph (from sample article) in Reference/GVRL:
 

undefined

 

Sample bibliography (found at the end of the articles in Reference/GVRL):

 

undefined

Even though the entries in Reference/GVRL are not peer reviewed journal articles, you might be led to peer reviewed articles through the bibliographies (indicated by arrow above). To find out which of these titles the Library owns, you want to use oneSEARCH, which is the next stop on our list of databases.