Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1012: Madeleine Crum: Recommended Databases

Research Guide for Prof. Madeleine Crum's ENGL 1012 Class, Spring 2021.

Recommended Databases

9. The Brooklyn College Library subscribes to over 400 different article databases, and although OneSearch searches a lot of them at the same time, it doesn’t search all of them.


From the Library’s website, click on the Databases link.

One of the options ("Browse Databases by Title") will present you with an A-Z list of all the databases the Library subscribes to.

Try searching several (or all) of the databases below to look for articles in scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals. They are all accessible from the A-Z list.

Multi-disciplinary databases (cover a lot of different subjects):

  • Academic Search Complete
  • JSTOR
  • Project Muse
  • SAGE Premier
  • Social Sciences Full Text
  • SpringerLink
  • Wiley Online

Subject-specific databases:

  • Art Full Text (Art)
  • MLA International Bibliography (Literature)
  • Music Index Online (Music)
  • Philosopher's Index (Philosophy)
  • PsycINFO (Psychology)
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Music)
  • SocIndex with Full Text (Sociology)

In choosing one of the subject-specific databases, think about the focus of your topic. If you're studying memoir from a literature perspective, MLA International Bibliography would be a good database to try. If you're writing about the autobiography and its relation to coping with trauma, then try PsycINFO, which is a major psychology database.

To see all of the databases that are relevant for a particular subject (Music, Sociology, etc..) use the "Find databases by subject" option, and choose your subject of interest from the drop-down menu (Art, for example).