Instructors are able to link to electronic resources on their Blackboard or course website. 

1. Locating Articles and Books for E-Reserve

   Stable Links 

   A stable link is a web address that consistently points to a specific e-resources such as an ebook, an article, a video, a record in OneSearch, or a database. A stable link may also be called a permalink, document URL,or persistent URL. DOIs (digital object identifiers) found in many databases can also serve as stable links.

    

   Creating Stable Links for Journal Articles, eBooks, Online Videos, Scanned Chapters and more

   
   OneSearch

   Records for e-resources in OneSearch all have permalinks.  Permalinks will take students to the item record in OneSearch: there they can link to the item, and remote authentication will automatically engage if they are off campus.  

    

   E-Resources in Databases 

   Most of our databases include stable link in the item record, though the term used and the location of the link will vary.  To ensure off-campus access to these links, most will require adding the library proxy prefix, which will recognize and authenticate Brooklyn College users.

2. Locate the database-provided permalink.
   • NB: in some publisher websites (eg: Sage, Wiley) you can use the URL that appears in the address bar of the browser to link back to the article, in others the stable url is in the full record.
3. Copy the link and add it to your course site with the EZProxy URL prefix https://brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/login?url= 
   For example, the link to an article in a Sage journal would look like this:
   https://brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/login?url=https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/full/10.1177/0964663917753725
4. In a few databases the EZProxy URL is already conveniently part of the stable URL.

5. If there is no permalink in a database, consider using the permalink in OneSEarch.  

6. See if the article is freely available online
7. Google: good search tactic is to include both article title and author's last name in search box; put the article title in quotation marks.
8. Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/): Google and Google Scholar have different bodies of information, so it's worth it to search both. Use same search tactic recommended above.

Questions? Ask a reference librarian! However, if you have a subject-specific question, it would be best to ask a subject specialist.

1. Linking articles, e-books, other electronic documents directly to your Blackboard course site.

   Be sure to tell your students that they will be required to authenticate with the Library's EZ-Proxy server to link to licensed resources from off campus. The instructions for remote access to Library resources is at https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/accounts/email:  Students can also find remote access instructions under the Library tab in Blackboard.

   1. Go to the Blackboard course site to which you will link the electronic source
   2. Click the Control Panel
   3. Choose any of the following links from the Content Areas panel
   4. Course Information
   5. Course Documents
   6. External Links
   7. Select the External Links option on the Add bar at the top of the page
   8. Enter a title for the link in the Name field
   9. Type (or paste) the URL (the web address) in the URL field. Be sure to include the http:// at the beginning
   10. Enter a set of descriptive words or sentences in the Text box, including complete bibliographic information about the article (i.e. author, title of article, journal title, volume, issue, pages, date)
   11. Click the Submit button
   12. Press OK to approve your action
2. Uploading Scanned Documents to Blackboard
   1. Logon to Blackboard
   2. Go to the course site to which you will post the reading material
   3. Click the Control Panel
   4. Choose Course Information in the Content Areas box
   5. Click the Item button on the Add bar
   6. Enter the name of your document
   7. Scroll down to Section 2
   8. Click the Browse button to find the reading material (document)
   9. Select the document
   10. Click the Submit button
   11. Click OK in the package receipt

Library Circulation Desk

• Email: CircDesk@brooklyn.cuny.edu
• Phone: 718-951-5328