Skip to main content
COVID-19 Update: THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! The Library building is closed; limited access to physical material.

Gender and the Workplace: Scholarly and Peer Review Sources

Sociology Databases

Database Tips

The corresponding number labels are some key functions in the database that will help you focus and narrow your searches:

1. Search boxes
2. Use Boolean (And Or Not) to combine your search terms. For example "Gender AND Income."
3. Add another search box
4. Limit your results to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals
5. Optional: Limit your results to full-text articles. Choosing this option will only show articles that are immediately available for download.

You can also refine your search in the results screen, pictured below:
1. SocIndex allows you to refine your results using options on the left side of the results screen.
2. You can Limit to Full-Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals) by checking the boxes here.
3. Some professors ask you to limit your results to research done in the last ten years. This can be done here.
4. Limiting your results by Source Types, is also useful. If you are new to a topic, you may want to read magazine articles before starting to read Academic Journals.
5. If the PDF Full Text is available, the PDF Icon will be displayed.

The corresponding number labels are some essential functions in the database results screen that will help you focus and narrow your searches:

1. Type your search terms in the search box.
2. Limit your results on the left by selecting articles
3. Scan the author and publication information for the name of the author and source of the article
4. Look at how many times other people cite the article
5. Click on the "find fulltext at Brooklyn" to access the article from the library.
6. Narrow your results by publication year.

Boolean

  1. AND will narrow your searches
  2. OR will broaden your searches
  3. NOT will narrow your searches to exclude a particular term

  1. TX All - Text (selecting this field will tell the database to only search for a keyword in the full text of the article)
  2. AU author - (selecting this field will tell the database to only search for a keyword in author field in the article record)
  3. Abstract - (selecting this field will tell the database to only search for a keyword in the Abstract of an article, if the article has an abstract. Not all articles have an abstract.
  4. Select a Field (optional) - Many databases have a default search, that let’s the database decide where to search.