Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1012: American Short Stories: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

10. The Brooklyn College Library subscribes to over 400 different article databases and although oneSEARCH searches a lot of them at the same time, it doesn’t search all of them.


From the Library’s website, click on the Databases link.

  

 

 

One of the options ("Browse Databases by Title") will present you with an A-Z list of all the databases the Library subscribes to.

 

 

Try searching several (or all) of the databases below to look for articles in scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals. Although you might see some overlap between databases, each databases indexes unique content, so that's why it's important to try multiple. They are all accessible from the A-Z list.

 

Multi-disciplinary databases (cover a lot of different subjects):

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Humanities Source
  • JSTOR
  • Project Muse

Subject-specific databases:

  • Literature Resource Center (Literature)
  • MLA International Bibliography (Literature)
  • Music Index Online (Music)
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Music)

In choosing one of the subject-specific databases, think about the focus of your topic. If you're studying the emotional and psychological effects of working in an office environment (like Bartleby), PsycINFO would be a good database to try. If you're writing about jazz music, then try RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, which is a major music database.

To see all of the databases that are relevant for a particular subject (English, Music, etc..) use the "Find databases by subject" option, and choose your subject of interest from the drop-down menu (Art, for example).