Skip to main content

Education Online Instruction: Articles & Databases

Databases

Video Tutorials

Click on the links below to view video tutorials for the above databases.

Education Database (Proquest)

Education Source (EBSCO)

ERIC

Professional Development Collection

PsycINFO (now called APA PsycInfo)

Education Journals

The library subscribes to many education-related journals. Use OneSearch to search for them.

Types of Research

You might need to find qualitative and/or quantitative research for your class or project. When searching the databases, you can narrow your search to return the types of research you're looking for. Here are some helpful keywords to consider:

Qualitative Research: Action research, Ethnographic, Case study, Constant comparison, Content analysis, Focus Group, Grounded Theory, Interview, Narrative, Phenomenological, Qualitative.

Quantitative Research: ANOVA, Chi square, Correlation data, Distribution, Experiment, Pretest, Posttest, Reliability, Statistical, T-test, Time series, Validity, Variable, Variance, Quantitative.

In PsycARTICLES, one of the limiters is METHODOLOGY. Select from the list of methodologies the one(s) you need for your search (Empirical study, Focus group, Quantitative study, etc.).

Systematic Reviews

Campbell Systematic Reviews: is the peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. Reviews follow structured guidelines and standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in education. Published bimonthly. Issues contain reviews only, not protocols or title registration documents. These may be retrieved from The Campbell Library.

EPPI-Centre: committed to informing policy and professional practice with sound evidence.

Systematic reviews: This includes developing methods for systematic reviews and research syntheses, conducting reviews, supporting others to undertake reviews, and providing guidance and training in this area. 

Research use: This includes studying the use/non-use of research evidence in personal, practice and political decision-making, supporting those who wish to find and use research to help solve problems, and providing guidance and training in this area.

What Works Clearinghouse: The goal of the WWC is to be a resource for informed education decision making. To reach this goal, the WWC identifies studies that provide credible and reliable evidence of the effectiveness of a given practice, program, or policy (referred to as “interventions”), and disseminates summary information and free reports on the WWC website. With over 700 publications available and more than 10,500 reviewed studies in the online searchable database, the WWC aims to inform researchers, educators, and policymakers as they work toward improving education for students.