Skip to main content
COVID-19 Update: The Library building is closed; limited access to physical material.

Brooklyn College Library COVID-19 Continuity of Services Plan: Fall 2020

BROOKLYN COLLEGE LIBRARY COVID-19 CONTINUITY PLAN

BC Library and other CUNY Libraries offer digital services and 24/7 resources. This document outlines our current online services:

Access/Accounts | Blackboard Uploads/Linking | Reference/Consultations/Instruction | Online Resources | Borrowing/Renewals/Fines | Registration Transcription Blocks | Reserves | Interlibrary Loan | Technology Loaner Equipment  

BOOK REQUEST and PICK-UP SERVICE

The Library is now offering a Book Request and Pick-up by appointment service for Brooklyn College students, faculty and staff  for the Brooklyn College Library circulating collection.

  • Use this form to request physical print Brooklyn College Library books:  https://brooklyn-cuny.libwizard.com/f/librarybkrequest
  • Please provide as much information as possible about the book(s) you are requesting. At this time, no requests for books from other CUNY libraries can be filled.
  • You will be notified via email within a week of your request and provided an appointment date/time when your book(s) will be ready for pick up or if the book(s) is not available. We will also provide you with instructions for securing campus access on your appointment date/time. 

Please note: The Library building is closed; there is no direct access to browsing or handling library materials

Books should not be returned to campus until the Library opens. Your books will be automatically renewed. Overdue fines and library blocks are suspended. 

If you have left or are leaving the New York City area permanently, please ship your books via UPS or USPS with tracking to:

Brooklyn College 
c/o Device & Book Returns 
2900 Bedford Avenue 
Brooklyn, NY 11210 

After shipping, send an email to devicerequest@brooklyn.cuny.edu that includes your CUNYFirst EMPL ID and the Barcode Number that is affixed to the book. This will facilitate the tracking and processing of your book. 

Question? Ask us! CircDesk@brooklyn.cuny.edu

ACCESS / ACCOUNTS

The Library building is currently closed until further notice.

Virtual Reference Service Hours - Use our Chat Reference service anytime here: https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/askalibrarian.  Email us at askbcref@cuny.libanswers.com or use this form. Email a subject librarian directly - we look forward to hearing from you.

Your BC and CUNY Accounts - Link here: https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/accounts for information about your Library account, authenticating from off campus, BC email, and more!

REFERENCE / CONSULTATIONS/ INSTRUCTION

24/7 Chat Reference Service - Go to the BC Library website and choose the “Ask-A-Librarian” tab, then click on Chat with a Reference Librarian

Consultations - For in-depth research assistance, email your subject librarian liaison. https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/prf.php

Library Instruction - For previously scheduled/confirmed Library Instruction sessions, librarians and class instructors can coordinate. Otherwise coordinate with the Library Liaison for your dept. The list of liaisons is here. https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/prf.php and our guide for online library instruction is here https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/continuity.

ONLINE RESOURCES

TECHNOLOGY LOANER EQUIPMENT

Loaner Equipment - The Library loaner equipment is now all loaned out. The equipment should not be returned until the Library re-opens. We will post here when the Library re-opens.

Library Technology questions - If you have a question related to Library information technologies, submit your question using this form, and don’t forget to include a valid email address. You can also email aitsupport@brooklyn.cuny.edu 

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Interlibrary Loan services are restricted to digital material at this time, please use the ILLiad form. Loan requests of physical items are not possible.

Please note: Automated processes are continuing so please ignore any automated overdue notices.

Watch this space for future developments . . .    Question?  Ask us!   ill@brooklyn.cuny.edu.  

BLACKBOARD UPLOADS / LINKING

Scanned book chapters and article .pdfs can be uploaded to course BlackBoard sites. Instructors are able to upload material to Blackboard on their own.

Fair Use and Copyright

Copyright experts have put together this guidance, Public Statement of Library Copyright Specialists: Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research, on fair use during the pandemic. 

Link to Articles and Books in OneSearch.

  1. Select and copy the Permalink to that record
  2. Place the permalink in your course site - students will be directed to authenticate if they try to access they resources while they are off campus.

Link directly to items in databases that include the EZ-Proxy Authentication URL:

  1. Locate an online article or ebook in most EBSCO databases or Docuseek2 among others.
  2. Select and copy the Permalink to that record that includes the EZ-Proxy authentication in the URL (see below)
  3. Place the permalink in your course site - students will be directed to authenticate if they try to access they resources while they are off campus.

Link directly to a resource in a library database that does not automatically include the EZ-Proxy URL

  1. Locate the stable URL to the article or ebook in the item record.
    NB: in some publisher websites (eg: Sage, Wiley) you can use the URL that appears in the address bar of the browser to link back to the article - in other databases you must use an identified stable URL in the record.
  2. Add the EZ-Proxy authentication URL to any article link for off-campus access. The EZProxy prefix is https://login.ez-proxy.brooklyn.cuny.edu/login?url= Thus the link to Academic Search Premier would look like this: https://login.ez-proxy.brooklyn.cuny.edu/login?url= http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph

BORROWING / RENEWALS / FINES

UPDATED: JUNE 16, 2020

On Campus Returns

Please check the College's Book & Device Return Policy for dates when materials can be returned to campus.

OR

By Mail

Please ship your books and device via UPS or USPS Priority with tracking to:

Brooklyn College
c/o Device & Book Returns;
2900 Bedford Avenue;
Brooklyn, NY 11210

**Important**

After shipping, send an email to devicerequest@brooklyn.cuny.edu that includes your CUNYFirst EMPL ID and the BRO or Barcode Number that is affixed to the device or book. This will facilitate the tracking and processing of your device.

Fines - All books and items taken out or that are due during this COVID-19 time period (March 11th forward) will not accumulate fines. All fines levied from before the COVID-19 time period (March 10th and before) will stand.

For Circulation or Reserves Questions/Issues email CircDesk@brooklyn.cuny.edu or call 718-951-5328.

REGISTRATION / TRANSCRIPT BLOCKS

If you have a library registration and/or transcript block, please email  Bridget Nowicki BNowicki@brooklyn.cuny.edu or call 718-951-5328 with the following information:

Your name, emplid #, and date of birth.

RESERVES

The Brooklyn College Library on-site print Reserves collection will not be available due to limited access to the Library building and the four-day quarantine period for circulating print materials which aligns with CUNY’s COVID-19 best practices through the Fall 2020 semester.

Library faculty will assist you in exploring options for alternatives to the print Reserve collection. Your subject librarian (https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/prf.php) can assist you with identifying textbook and/or course material alternatives that will be zero cost for your students through:

  • Identifying Open Educational Resources (OER). OERs are freely available educational materials openly licensed to allow for re-use and modification by instructors; and/or
  • Linking to content from the Library’s existing collection of electronic resources (eBooks, journal articles, streaming media, and other digital materials).

As well, you can create an Online Reserve Packet by posting individual book chapters or excerpts and scanned copies of content to your Blackboard course or other course site, subject to copyright limitiations.

Unfortunately, commercial textbook publishers consistently don’t offer electronic purchasing options for libraries. Many existing course textbooks are simply unavailable to any library regardless of budget in formats other than print.

The following publishers will not permit us to purchase an eTextbook version of their publications:

  • Pearson
  • Cengage
  • McGraw Hill
  • Oxford University Press
  • most publishers of common readers, popular fiction, and popular non-fiction
  • many health sciences texts

This means that for courses adopting textbooks by these publishers, students who do not purchase the textbook will not have any alternative access to textbook content at this time.

If you have Copyright/Fair Use questions or concerns, please contact: askcopyright@brooklyn.cuny.edu  Or see: Scholarly Communications Website