Skip to main content

Friends of the Library: About

About the Friends Program

Friends of the Library stimulate support for the Library.

Friends of the Brooklyn College Library is a membership program that allows Brooklyn college graduates, neighbors, and other individuals to have access—including borrowing privileges—to library materials. Anyone interested in the collections and services of the Library is welcome to join.

Members may use the Library for pleasure, reference, and research. Friends of the Library also receive mailings about Library activities and special events.

And membership provides so much more than that! By joining Friends, you help the Library grow our collection and allow us to add important books to our holdings.

Want to know more about the Friends of the Library? Send us an email at marianne@brooklyn.cuny.edu.


Joining Friends of the Library for the first time?

Great! Welcome! Please come to the Library Circulation Desk (on the first floor) to complete your application.


Renewing your membership?

Thank you! To renew your membership to the Friends of the Library please ask for a form at the Circulation Desk.

Access and Benefits

See more on benefits and access available to Friends of the Brooklyn College Library by clicking on the text below.

Library access

Friends of the Brooklyn College Library have access to the building and collections.

Borrowing materials

Friends can borrow up to five (5) items at one time, including music.

Computer labs

Friends have access to Library computer labs, but access is limited during midterms and finals. See Restrictions.

Archives & Special Collections

Friends have access to the Archives & Special Collections.

Government documents

These are non-circulating materials. Friends are allowed to view them in the Library.

Current periodicals

These are non-circulating materials. Friends are allowed to view them in the Library.

Albums, CD/DVD/Video Viewing/Listening

These are non-circulating materials. Friends are allowed to view them in the Library.

Remote access

Friends of the Library do not have remote access privileges.

Reserves (including Music)

These are non-circulating materials. Friends are allowed to view them in the Library.

Group Study/Media Rooms

Friends do not have access to Group Study/Media Rooms.

Library Café

Alumni/ae only. Alumni/ae must show alumni ID card. Access limited to staffed hours: Mon–Thurs 8am–9:45pm, Friday 9am–4:45 pm, Saturday and Sunday 10am–5:45pm.

Contact Information

Marianne LaBatto

marianne@brooklyn.
cuny.edu

(718) 951-5346