Good for Africana Studies and English Literature. Mainly works of fiction and some poetry published since the 1960's, many now out of print.

Search for citations to scholarly articles on the history of North America, from 1450.

Provides large numbers of primary documents with more than 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975, illustrate the evolution of what it means to "be black." Includes the only full run of The Black Panther - the party's newspaper - and 2,500 pages of oral history interviews recorded by the former Black Panther, David Hilliard. Teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, veterans, entertainers, and others are represented.

The Digital Library on American Slavery is an expanding resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface.

This interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press is designed to provide the "other side of the story" for area and ethnic studies, such as Jewish studies, African American studies, and Hispanic American studies.

Source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history. Includes primary source materials from federal (FBI) surveillance programs including "Mississippi Burning", FBI files on Adam Clayton Powell, Malcolm X, Elijah Muhammed, and SNCC; and other investigations.

Historical Abstracts is an indexing tool to the world's periodical literature in history and related social sciences and humanities that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Indexes public affairs literature including current issues in communities, countries, and government. Cites articles on political science issues in journals, and relevant books, government documents, research reports, international agencies' publications, and Internet sites.

Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s is a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The works in this collection reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate and include first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works. The publications are all drawn from the holdings of the Millersville University Library and the Dickinson College Library, as well as each of their respective Special Collections Departments.

You have access to part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

This database contains: 5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles, links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections; collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.

Excellent resource offers comprehensive coverage of the literature of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises more than 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, a timeline, and an animation.

Freedom Riders were civil rights activists that rode interstate buses into the segregated South to test the United States Supreme Court decision in Boynton v. Virginia. Collection contains digitized primary source documents from government officials and activists.

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning.

Kanopy is a streaming video service. Faculty may request film activation for use with classes through the form on the Kanopy website; requests are processed weekly on Fridays. Activated films are available for one year and may be accessed by all members of our community.

For information on notable individuals from antiquity through 1983, Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983 is an invaluable resource. It includes over 627,000 article and book citations, indexing of interviews and profiles of history makers, as well as obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenilia, book reviews, bibliographies, and exhibition reviews. Included are entries on individuals that reflect the perspective of the time when they were written.

Biography Reference Bank contains biographical information on more than half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. In addition to the full text biographies, Biography Reference Bank also includes links to feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, obituaries, and other biographical content. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images.

Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.