Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Mathematics Research Guide: Articles & Databases

Mathematics Databases

MathSciNet (AMS) This link opens in a new window MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940, with some bibliographic data going back to the early 1800s. The site provides access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database, as well as over one million direct links to the original articles. Users can search by publication, journal, author, or citation.
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of research in the applied sciences and computing disciplines, containing full-text for more than 1,400 journals with coverage dating back to 1913.
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus indexes and abstracts over 14,000 journals in the sciences and social sciences, including mathematics. Scopus has an exceptionally user-friendly interface and is an excellent database for students and novice researchers.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink - Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Mathematics Education Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources, including many articles about mathematics education.
- This link opens in a new window
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Definitive full-text resource for education. More than 1,700 full-text journals; coverage to 1929. Indexing/abstracting for thousands of journals; full text for more than 500 books/monographs; numerous education-related conference papers; book reviews. Subjects: early childhood education to higher education, multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- This link opens in a new window

History of Mathematics

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources on a variety of subjects.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Good for all topics, this comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database provides access to almost 9,000 full-text periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Unlock a treasure trove of knowledge with JSTOR! Dive into over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources across 75 disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window

Here are a few free websites with great information on the history of mathematics and mathematicians:

Math History Topics Guide From the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of St. Andrews, Scotland. This resource has helpful overviews of math history topics from various cultures, time periods, and disciplines.
Story of Mathematics This is Storyofmathematics.com (SOM), the go-to website for all things math-related! With the click of a button, you’ll be able to access a wide selection history modules, video tutorials and detailed math lessons that are all available on their website.

E-Journals Search

Search for Journals by Title or ISSN

arXiv.org

arXiv.org

Open access to over 1,1 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Hosted by Cornell University.

Library &
Academic IT

Library & Academic IT

Mathematics Research Guide: Articles & Databases