Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Biology: Background Information

Reference Resources

Online Resources
Print Resources

Biotechnology in Context
Examines biotechnology and related subjects in the context of science, government, politics, culture and society, and the environment. It also covers historical, political and ethical debates and issues. Cross-curricular in nature, it can be used by researchers and students in classes in science, environmental science, history, government and the social sciences. (E-resource)
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
The science of biodiversity is an interdisciplinary field spanning areas of both physical and life sciences. Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity. This 7-volume set is available in the Reference Stacks on the first floor of the library, call number QH541.15 .B56 E53 2013.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a free, online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the living species known to science. It aims to build one infinitely-expandable page for each species, including video, sound, images, graphics, plus text. (E-resource)
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources on a variety of subjects.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
For decades researchers have turned to Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia for concise accounts of thousands of species, including information on evolution and systematics, physical characteristics, distribution, habitat, behavior, feeding ecology and diet, reproductive biology, conservation status and significance to humans. (E-resource)
Magill's Medical Guide
This Salem Press encyclopedic guide provides general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. This resource covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy and biology. Available as an online electronic resource (eBook) or in print in the reference stacks on the 1st floor of the library under call number RC41 .M34 2011.

The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by John M. Lackie (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Resource
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology provides definitions for thousands of terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Stephen G. Post
Call Number: Electronic Resoure
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Bioethics by Gale Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Bioethics is the where ethics--right and wrong--intersect with biology, medicine, biotechnology, politics, law, religion and philosophy. It encompasses issues of profound importance to students, faculty and laypersons.

Darwin's Universe by Richard Milner; Stephen Jay Gould (Preface by); Ian Tattersall (Foreword by)
Call Number: QH360.2 .M55 2009 (Non-Circulating)
This alphabetically arranged reference, an immensely entertaining browser's delight, offers a dazzling overview of the life and thought of Charles Darwin and his incredibly wide sphere of influence. .
Encyclopedia of Human Biology by Renato Dulbecco (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: QP11 .E53 1997 (Non-circulating)
The Encyclopedia of Human Biology provides complete coverage of the vast subject area of human biology.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology by William A. Nierenberg (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: QH540 .4 .E52 1995 (Non-circulating)
In today's world, knowledge about the environment and our relationship with it is extremely crucial. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology, is a much-needed reference with detailed information on environmental issues.
Encylopaedia of Molecular Biology by John Kendrew (Editor); Eleanor Lawrence
Call Number: QH506 .E53 1994 (Non-circulating)
The Encylopaedia of Molecular Biology is a truly unique work of reference. The complete one-volume guide to understanding the way molecular biology is transforming medicine and agriculture.
Encyclopedia of Animal Evolution by R. J. Berry; A. Hallam
Call Number: QH366.2 .E54 1987 (Non-circulating)
The evolution and development of animals. it also talks about the adaption through natural breeding of animals.

iBiology

iBiology's mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made. Our aim is to let you meet the leading scientists in biology, so that you can find out how they think about scientific questions and conduct their research, and can get a sense of their personalities, opinions, and perspectives.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

QH301-705.5 - Biology (General)
QH359-425 - Evolution
QH426-470 - Genetics
QH540-549.5 - Ecology
QK1-474.5 - Botany (General)
QL360-739.8 - Zoology
QL750-795 - Animal Behavior
QM1-695 - Human Anatomy
QP1-345 - Physiology (General)
QR180-189.5 - Immunology
QR355-502 - Virology

Library &
Academic IT

Library & Academic IT

Biology: Background Information

Why Reference?

Reference Resources

iBiology

Library of Congress Call Numbers