Skip to main content

Women's Studies: Research

Starting Points for Research in Women's Studies

Looking for a topic? Try the Institute for Women's Policy Research.

Looking for books and not sure how to find them?  Start here.

Looking for articles and don't know where to go? Start here.

Search for books, articles, media and more using

One Search Icon

 

 

Databases for Women's Studies

Statistics for Women's Studies

statistics chart

Trustworthy and current statistics on women from the World Bank and the United Nations.

Gender Equality Data and Statistics

Gender Statistics

The World's Women 2010: Trends and Statistics

 

 

Video Resources for Women's Studies

Alexander Street Press
A resource for film covering history, ethnography, and music.  Also includes the PBS video collection.

 

Books Recently Added to the Collection

Primary Resources for Women's Studies

Book image - Daughters of Genius
 
Information Subscription Resource - Proxy Access CUNY Access
Public access to the full text of 52 published works; created by The Schomberg Center, New York Public Library.
Information Subscription Resource - Proxy Access CUNY Access
The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.
Information Subscription Resource - Proxy Access CUNY Access
Full text access to speeches given by "influential contemporary women," including Nobel Prize acceptance speeches; maintained by Sweet BriarCollege.
Information Subscription Resource - Proxy Access CUNY Access

JSTOR offers full-text access to archival scholarly journals. It offers both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections, covering such topics as Art, Business, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Music, Ecology, & Botany. JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is approximately a 1-5 year gap between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in the database.

Contact for Women's Studies

Beth Evans
Contact:
Brooklyn College Library
Room 148
2900 Bedford Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11210