Faculty Guide on Open Education Resources (OER): Find OER Content

A curated digital library of open educational resources (OER) and zero textbook cost (ZTC) materials. Excellent resource to discover CUNY OER/ZTC by format/type, subject collections as well as creator/provider. Most OER/ZTC created by Brooklyn College faculty have been added to the repository.

The Active Learning Strategies website presents background information on Active Learning and details various strategies to incorporate active learning into your classroom. Strategies are divided into categories depending on how they can might be employed in your classroom..

---

A collaborative effort by the University System of Georgia (USG) and California State University to replace high cost textbooks across the Georgia system. The site features a list of the top 50 enrolled classes along with approved open textbooks for those classes..

---

Art History Teaching Resources is a peer-curated and populated site where instructors share lesson plans and resourcesrelated to art history. You will find a rich array of detailed syllabi, assignments, exams, image clusters, and video tours of important museum collections. This site also provides an excellent space for instructors outside the field of art history to find art that this thematically linked to their course content.

---

This site includes texts written specifically for the University of British Columbia OpenTextbook initiative, as well as books from other sources..

---

The College Open Textbooks is a collaborative of 29 educational organizations and 200 affiliated colleges in California. The project is focused on promoting awareness and adoption of open textbooks. The College Open Textbooks Collaborative has peer-reviewed more than 100 open textbooks for use in community college courses throughout California and beyond. Open textbooks are freely available for use without restriction and can be downloaded or printed from their web sites and repositories.Image result for college open textbooks.

---

The Open Educational Resources series collects instructional materials -- from textbooks to syllabi -- by the faculty of the City University of New York. To find works from a specific college or school, you may browse by Colleges, Schools, Centers..

---

This site is a clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks..

---

Equality Archive is a multimedia open educational resource that documents the history of sex and gender equality in the United States.contains multimodal (text/image/video) entries about feminist histories, people, and issues. Each entry contains references, links to film, video, speeches, or music relevant to its topic..

---

is a gateway to European cultural assets, through this one site you can search for artworks, cultural items, archival collections from participating institutions all around Europe. This site is a gateway, and once you have selected the items you want you will be redirected to the website of the institution that owns the item, and often these sites will not have English translations..

---

Located in Washington D.C., The Folger Shakespeare Library’s website hosts many useful resources geared toward teaching and learning the Bard’s work. There are full teaching modules that focus on commonly-taught Shakespeare plays. These modules contain lesson ideas, homework assignments, and assessments.

---

A free library of thousands of texts for students in a range of topics covered in a university undergraduate program. Individual book chapters can be opened and modified to fit your own needs. GTP is a joint venture between the Terry College of Business of the University of Georgia and the Daniels College of Business of the University of Denver..

---

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

---

HERB is a highly curated database of primary sources, assignments, and other teaching materials related to the social history of the United States. Most resources are designed to give an account of what life was like for “ordinary” people during important moments in US history. It is run by the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning at the Graduate Center. One of the strengths of this site is that it offers highly edited resources designed for teachers to use in their classrooms; you will find resources organized by collection, era, theme, and assignment type.

---

A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine. InTech has published more than 850 Open Access books, and provides support services for faculty who wish to publish a book or journal and make it available via Open Access.

---

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

---

The Living Lab Learning Library is an assignment repository and resources exchange developed by NY City Tech, CUNY. The site allows educators to upload and share innovative teaching practices, assignments, and classroom exercises..

---

A community of volunteers from all over the world who record public domain texts: poetry, short stories, whole books, even dramatic works, in many different languages. All LibriVox recordings are in the public domain in the USA and available as free downloads on the internet.

---

Lumen Learning is a learning management system (LMS) specifically designed for OER courses. The platform offers a course catalog that hosts content for courses across several disciplines and even contains some fully designed courses complete with assessments and evaluations. course content and a few fully designed courses. For a fee, the Lumen platform also offers courseware packages (Candela, Waymaker, and OHM) where instructors can house their OER material and also manage/run their classes..

---

MERLOT II (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is an online database of open educational resources from across the web. The platform contains everything from full text books, to references guides, full courses, case studies, online collections, and more..

---

MIT OpenCourseware is an online repository with course materials for over 2340 courses developed for MIT’s online learning outlets. Courses are listed by topic, instructional approach, and materials..

---

OER Commons aggregates and organizes OER materials ranging from labs to textbooks to full courses by subject area, grade levels, and type of material. The robust search and and filtering functionalities make it easy to find materials that might be of use in for courses in many disciplines.

---

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN has books in multiple languages and covering a large variety of topics. There is a range of licensing for the books, but each books is clearly marked with the license.

---

Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.

---

Produced by Rice University, this resource provides free professional grade, peer reviewed textbooks that meet the scope and sequence of most courses. Online versions are free, and print versions only cost the price of production.

---

Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.

---

From their site: "The Open Syllabus Project (OSP) is building the first large-scale online database of university course syllabi as a platform for new research, teaching, and administrative tools."

---

A volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most items in this collection are digitized works from the public domain, making it a rich source for those in the Humanities.

---

Saylor Academy offers course content for over 100 courses in various disciplines. Browse the course catalog to find lecture content, readings, and activities. Saylor’s curated materials come from various free and open online resources that are developed by expert educators. Most courses and resources focus on introductory and general education courses..

---

Smarthistory is a OER textbook created by two professors who wanted to bring the artifacts of museums to students who couldn’t easily access them. Smarthistory provides a comprehensive collection of videos, images, and essays organized around themes and approaches relevant to the study of art.

---

The Teaching Commons compiles and organizes by subject open access materials from higher ed institutional repositories. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.

---

Words Without Border Campus is the educational sister site to Words Without Borders, the online magazine for international literature. The Campus site, geared primarily toward high school and college classrooms, draws from Words Without Borders’ rich archive of literature-in-translation and organizes it into national and thematic units, customizable to a range of courses and interests. Educators will find an array of resources to accompany each unit and reading, including contextual resources, background information, teaching ideas, and author and translator interviews. The site also houses a blog with news, updates, and reports from classrooms around the world.

---

Writing Commons offers a repository of webtexts for college-level courses across the disciplines that require writing and research. Resources include materials on information literacy, ethical citation practices, style and usage, genre and audience, new media, and research and writing processes and methods.

---

The BCcampus Open Education Self-Publishing Guide is a reference for individuals or groups wanting to write and self-publish an open textbook. This guide provides details on the preparation, planning, writing, publication, and maintenance of an open textbook. (The guide updates/replaces the BC Open Textbook Authoring Guide.)

This guide is for faculty authors, librarians, project managers and others who are involved in the production of open textbooks in higher education and K-12. Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.

This is a five-step guide for faculty, and those who support faculty, who want to modify an open textbook. Step-by-step instructions for importing and editing common open textbook file and platform types are included.

A handbook for faculty interested in practicing open pedagogy by involving students in the making of open textbooks, ancillary materials, or other Open Educational Resources. This is a first edition, compiled by Rebus Community, and we welcome feedback and ideas to expand the text.

The Homeland Security Digital Library is a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Topics include maritime, unmanned aerial systems, terrorism, epidemics and many more.

SciTech Connect is a collection of science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.

Their stated mission is "to create and organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice."

The Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) collection is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.

This site is a repository of primary source materials (images of artworks, texts, maps, or other related materials). Where one site may give you images, they strive to provide the history, myth, and culture that inform the images.You can search by "Artist", "Art Movement", "Female Artists", "Museum", "Year", "Tags". All artwork and historical texts will be free.

This is a collection of public domain resources from the British Library's collection. The albums included on this page are a great resource for inspiration and reuse.

Browse by license type or choose "Advanced Search" to limit to Creative Commons content.Flickr contains millions of photographs shared by Flickr users under Creative Commons licenses, and is a strong source for contemporary travel, nature, people, and design photographs.

The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.

Collection of images from LIFE magazine's photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today, accessible through Google Images. Images in this collection are approved for "personal, non-commercial" use.

NASA content - images, audio, video, and computer files used in the rendition of 3-dimensional models generally are not copyrighted. You may use this material for educational or informational purposes, including photo collections, textbooks, public exhibits, computer graphical simulations and Internet Web pages.

The mission of the National Gallery of Art is to serve the United States of America in a national role by preserving, collecting, exhibiting, and fostering the understanding of works of art at the highest possible museum and scholarly standards. In pursuing this mission, the Gallery makes its collection images and information available to scholars, educators, and the general public to support research, teaching, and personal enrichment; to promote interdisciplinary research; and to nurture an appreciation of all that inspires great works of art. The Gallery encourages users to include the following credit with any use of one of its open access images: Courtesy National Gallery of Art, Washington

Open access site from the New York Public Library. Explore 872,881 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. The site is living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

With a focus on the surprising, the strange, and the beautiful, we hope to provide an ever-growing cabinet of curiosities for the digital age, a kind of hyperlinked Wunderkammer – an archive of content which truly celebrates the breadth and diversity of our shared cultural commons and the minds that have made it.

All photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons Zero which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission from or providing attribution to the photographer or Unsplash.

Free older photos, most between 40 and 80 years old. Free to use, even in commercial uses, as long as the photo itself is not the main selling point (for example, you can't make a t-shirt out of the photo). A free account is required to download photos.

Yale's digital collections, including images from the Peabody Museum, Center for British Art, University Art Gallery, Library Map Collection, and Walpole Library Prints and Drawings. Search across Yale's collections of art, natural history, books, and maps, as well as photos, audio, and video documenting people, places, and events that form part of Yale's institutional identity and contribution to scholarship. Not all content available through Discover Yale Digital Content is unrestricted. Please refer to the individual repository website and to the rights information in the record for each item.

Search public domain clip art and photos by category. All photos on this site were taken by the author and released as public domain.

With a focus on the surprising, the strange, and the beautiful, we hope to provide an ever-growing cabinet of curiosities for the digital age, a kind of hyperlinked Wunderkammer – an archive of content which truly celebrates the breadth and diversity of our shared cultural commons and the minds that have made it.

WikiArt features some 250.000 artworks by 3.000 artists, localized on 7 languages. These artworks are in museums, universities, town halls, and other civic buildings of more than 100 countries. Most of this art is not on public view. They also provide tools for translation on as many languages as needed. WikiArt presents both public domain and copyright protected artworks, so make sure to check.

---