Primary sources are the evidence of history, original records or objects created by participants or observers at the time historical events occurred or even well after events, as in memoirs and oral histories. Primary sources may include but are not limited to: letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, maps, speeches, interviews, documents produced by government agencies, photographs, audio or video recordings, born-digital items (e.g. emails), research data, and objects or artifacts (such as works of art or ancient roads, buildings, tools, and weapons). These sources serve as the raw materials historians use to interpret and analyze the past. (ALA.org)
One of the best ways to find primary sources is via secondary sources (books and articles). Primary sources, or excerpts from primary sources, may be reprinted and/or cited in secondary sources such as books and journal articles. This is an excellent way to determine which primary sources will be most relevant for the research topic you are studying.
Encyclopedias and other reference works (tertiary sources) are especially helpful for finding primary source documents in history. So even as you are just starting your research, pay close attention to any primary source material that is being cited.
Another way to find possible primary sources is via Sourcebooks. Hint: use the keyword "sources" or "sourcebook" when using OneSearch.
There are also many digitized primary source collections online, in addition to the library databases listed below.
The Baltimore African-American was the most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents. The paper's contributors have included writer Langston Hughes, intellectual J. Saunders Redding, artist Romare Bearden, and sports editor Sam Lacy, whose column influenced the desegregation of professional sports.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times Historical Edition offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1865. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
This link opens in a new windowRepresents over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic (1691-1820).
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window