Skip to main content

Conducting Research: Access and Services

Getting Started

Anatomy class

Researching in the Archives

Archival materials do not circulate and may be used only in our reading room on the first floor of the Brooklyn College Library. 

When you visit the Brooklyn College Archives and Special Collections, you will be asked to show a staff member valid picture identification and complete a registration form. The information from this form will help us to keep statistics on the usage of our archival material, and will help us to improve service in the future.

Access

Access for Members of the Brooklyn College and CUNY Community

Reference and research assistance is offered to all Brooklyn College students, alumni, faculty, and administrators as well as other members of the CUNY community.  Please present your CUNY identification card to the security guard in the lobby of the library to gain entrance.

Access for Visiting Researchers

Access is available to outside researchers, writers, and students who must secure permission from the archivist prior to visiting the collections.  All collections, unless otherwise restricted, are available for review by responsible researchers.  Please contact Colleen Bradley-Sanders, College Archivist, at C.Bradley-Sanders17@brooklyn.cuny.edu  or  call (718) 951-5346 to set up an appointment. 

Upon arriving at the Brooklyn College campus, you must present a valid photo ID to security officers at both the campus and library entrances. A visitor’s pass will be available at the Library security desk; please give the Library security officer your name and destination (Special Collections Room 130).

Services

Reference Services

Have a question for the Archivist? 

Patrons on campus are welcomed to stop by the Reading Room, located in room 130 Library, during our business hours and ask our archivists questions regarding their research topic or about our holdings.

For off-campus patrons, our archival staff can provide reference assistance via email or by phone regarding the contents of and access to our collections as well as brief answers to factual questions; however, we do not have the resources to do extensive research.

Email the Archivist, Professor Colleen Bradley-Sanders.

Telephone: 718-951-5346

For the answers to complex queries, we recommend that researchers visit the archives. 

Interlibrary Loan

Materials housed within the Brooklyn College Archives and Special Collections are not eligible for Interlibrary Loan.

Class visits

The Brooklyn College Archives and Special Collections welcomes visits by Brooklyn College undergraduate and graduate classes. Instruction can include a general introduction to the archives and the use of primary sources and/or talks about specific collections housed within the Archives.

If you would like to bring your class to the Archives please contact the College Archivist Professor Colleen Bradley-Sanders at least three weeks prior to the date of your intended visit. Attendance by the professor at these sessions is required.